The files of the present holdings NW 223 were handed over to the Main State Archives on 13 October 1976 in 10 packages and 8 files and were accepted under No. III 82/76. These are documents of the Zoological Research Institute and Museum Alexander Koenig, Bonn, which document the emergence of the institute as a foundation and its work as a state institution. Numerous purchase contracts for the properties on which the construction of the Museum Koenig and the Villa Hammerschmidt, today's "House of the Federal President", are located, provide information about the development of the former rural property in this area in the second half of the 19th century. The construction of the museum building, a neo-Renaissance building, is documented, as is the transfer of the furnishings to the Reich as a result of unsuccessful efforts to complete the construction with Prussia's own funds or with the help of the Prussian government. The correspondences convey a vivid picture of the patriarchal character of the "Reichsinstitut" under the direction of its founder, Prof. Dr. Alexander Koenig. The scientific diaries as well as the documents belonging to the "Alexander Koenig Foundation" on the basis of testamentary provisions are still kept in the Koenig Museum. For the history of the institution and the Koenig family cf. Martin Eisentraut, Alexander Koenig und sein Werk, Bonn 1973. For the history of the Zoological Research Institute and Museum A. Koenig after 1945 cf. also the holdings NW 60. The holdings were recorded from December 1976 to January 1977 by the State Archives Council, Dr. Jürgen Rainer Wolf. Mrs. Angela Mauritz wrote the find book. The records must be quoted: NW 223 No. ... The stock is freely visible.
Diaries
36 Archival description results for Diaries
Alfred Graf von Waldersee was born in Potsdam on April 8, 1832, the son of the general of the cavalry Franz von Waldersee. The Waldersees, which originated from an originally Anhalt noble family and later settled in the Mark Brandenburg, served the Prussian state primarily as officers and can therefore be counted among the Prussian military nobility. After his education in his parents' house and in the cadet corps, Waldersee left the latter in 1850 as an officer in the guards artillery and was an adjutant of the 1st artillery inspection in 1858 bus in 1859 and was transferred to the general staff and promoted to major in 1866 by Captain, Prince Charles of Prussia's adjutant in 1865. Waldersee took part in the campaign in Bohemia in the large headquarters, came to the general command of the 10th army corps in Hanover after peace, became military attaché in Paris and aide to the wing in 1870, joined the mobilization as the large headquarters, became chief of the general staff of the army department of the Grand Duke of Mecklenburg-Schwerin in 1871 and was chief of staff of the governor of Paris, while German troops stood in Paris, then from June to September business bearer of the German government in the French Republic. Waldersee then retired into practical service as colonel and commander of the 13th Uhlan Regiment, became chief of the general staff of the 10th army corps in 1873, major general and general à la suite in 1880. In 1882 he became Quartermaster General and representative of the Chief of the General Staff of the Army, in the same year Lieutenant General, soon afterwards Adjutant General of the Emperor. Promoted General of the Cavalry under Emperor Friedrich in 1888, Waldersee was soon appointed Chief of Staff of the Army as successor of Muldke after the accession to the throne of Emperor Wilhelm II and was also appointed to the manor house and to the Council of State. In 1891 he was appointed commander general of the 9th army corps, in September 1895 general colonel of the cavalry. In April 1898 he was relieved of his commanding general position and appointed Inspector General of the 3rd Army Inspectorate. In May 1901 he was promoted to General Field Marshal. By agreement between the allied powers he was given the supreme command during the Chinese Boxer Uprising in the province of Pechili, which he held from September 27, 1900 to June 4, 1901. After his return to Germany he took over the 3rd army inspection again. Since 1874 Count Waldersee was married to an American, the widow of Prince Noer, Marie Esther Lee. Waldersee died in Hanover on 5 March 1904. The Waldersee estate was transferred to the Prussian Secret State Archives in 1935. The estate was published by H. O. Meisner in "Memories of Field Marshal Alfred Grafen v. Waldersee", 3 vol., Stuttgart - Berlin 1922/23 H. O. Meisner "From the correspondence of the General Field Marshal Alfred Grafen v. Waldersee", vol. 1 1886 - 1897, Stuttgart - Berlin 1928 H. O. Meisner "Briefwechsel zwischen dem Chef des Generalstabes Grafen v. Waldersee und dem Militärattaché in Petersburg Graf York v. Wartenburg", 1885 - 1897, in: Hist. Polit. Archive 1930 Vol. I, p. 133 - 192 Fornaschon, Wolfgang "Die politischen Anschauungen des Grafen Alfred v. Waldersee und seine Stellungnahme zur deutschen Politik", Berlin 1935, Hist. Stud. 273 During the reorganization of the estate, attempts were made to bring related pieces, such as diaries and the private files of Waldersee, which had been torn apart by the processing, back into their original context. In cases where a large number of exhibitors were present, the letters were sorted alphabetically. Individual, already existing folders were only sorted chronologically. The letters were also included individually. This detailed list can be found in Appendix 1 of the repertory. For all other letters, a chronological order has been established and an alphabetical register has been created (Annex 2) to make it easier to find individual persons. The large number of newspaper clippings was also sorted chronologically and placed in individual folders. The relevant register (Appendix 3) contains all the available newspapers, listed separately for German and foreign newspapers. No exact signature is given, only the year has been included. The signatures are completely new. Each number is foil-wrapped, the number of sheets is on the inside cover. Additions to Waldersee's diaries contain the number of pages, marked with the letters a ff. The notes and markings with pencil and crayon originate from earlier adaptations, as well as the cutting up of individual pages. For practical reasons, the subsequent separation of individual numbers into several volumes was made during the bookbinding treatment of the estate. Description: Biographical Data: 1832 - 1904 Resources: Database; Reference book, 1 vol.
Waldersee, Alfred vonNames: R. Stephan Stichworte: R. Stephan: Glanz und Elend des hanseatischen Exporter, o.D. - Transcripts of Krogmann Diaries: Sections Colonial and Foreign Trade Policy Volume: 0.1 running metres Period: 1939-1945
History of the Inventory Designer: Walter Nordbeck, Friedrich Ernst Moritz Saemisch. In: Men of the German Administration, Cologne/Berlin 1963, S. 315-327 Inventory description: Personal papers, notes and diaries (1880-1944); extensive correspondence and material files from work at the Reichsschatzamt (1916-1919), in particular on the peace negotiations, as President of the Landesfinanzamt Kassel (1919-1921), but predominantly as President of the Rechnungshof des Deutschen Reiches and the Preußische Oberrechnungskammer, as Chairman of the Debt Committees of the Reich and Prussia, and as Reichssparkommissar; Documents on the Phoebus (Lohmann) affair (1927/28) and questions of the Reichsbahn (1939-1944); documents from cooperation with numerous predominantly financial, economic and cultural organisations; material collections, in particular on financial, economic, constitutional and legal issues. (as of 1977) Citation method: BArch, N 1171/...
History of the inventor: Joseph Goebbels, who had already been head of the NSDAP's Reich Propaganda Department since 1929, had certainly developed plans for a Ministry of Propaganda even before the seizure of power.(1) The Reichskabinett (Reich Cabinet) dealt with the issue of the Propaganda Department on 11 September. The arguments for the foundation, which the Reich Chancellor (Hitler) himself presented, sounded extremely harmless ex post and far from future realities: "One of the predominant tasks of this ministry would be the preparation of important acts of government. On the oil and fat issue, for example, which now occupies the cabinet, the people should be enlightened in the direction that the farmer would perish if something were not done to improve the sale of his products. The importance of this matter also for the war measures would have to be pointed out ..." Government action would only begin if the awareness-raising work had taken place and worked for some time. ..."(2) On 16 March 1933, however, Goebbels described the future tasks of his ministry programmatically three days after his appointment in a remarkably open manner in front of press representatives: "If this government is now determined never to give way again, never and under no circumstances, then it need not make use of the dead power of the bayonet, then in the long run it will not be able to be satisfied with knowing 52 percent behind it ..., but it will have to see its next task in winning the remaining 48 percent for itself. This is not only possible through objective work". And about the nature of his propaganda he proclaimed: "Not any aesthete can judge the methods of propaganda. A binding judgment can only be given on the basis of success. For propaganda is not an end in itself, but a means to an end.(3) A timid attempt by Hugenberg to at least delay the decision to establish the Ministry of Propaganda in the cabinet meeting of March 11, 1933 failed miserably. Already on 13 March 1933 the law on the establishment of the RMVP was signed by the Reich President and the "writer" Dr. Goebbels was appointed minister.(4) Almost three weeks later, on 5 April 1933, Goebbels noted in his diary: "The organisation of the ministry is finished".(5) In difficult negotiations(6) with the ministries, which had to cede parts of their competences to the new ministry, the responsibilities were determined in detail. The RMVP was responsible for all tasks relating to intellectual influence on the nation, advertising for the state, culture and economy, informing the domestic and foreign public about them, and the administration of all institutions serving these purposes. As a result, the business area of the RMVP will be: 1. from the business area of the Federal Foreign Office: News and education abroad, art, art exhibitions, film and sports abroad. 2. From the RMI division: General Domestic Enlightenment, Hochschule für Politik, introduction and celebration of national holidays and celebration of national holidays with the participation of the RMI, press (with Institute for Newspaper Science), radio, national anthem, German Library in Leipzig, art (but without art-historical institute in Florence, copyright protection for works of literature and art, directory of nationally valuable works of art, German-Austrian Convention on the Export of Art, Protection of Works of Art and Monuments, Protection and Maintenance of Landscape and Natural Monuments, Nature Parks, Preservation of Buildings of Special Historical Importance, Preservation of National Monuments, Verband Deutscher Vereine für Volkskunde, Reich Memorial), Music Conservation, including the Philharmonic Orchestra, Theatre Matters, Cinema, Combating Trash and Dirt 3. From the business areas of the Reich Ministry of Economics and the Reich Ministry of Food and Agriculture: Economic Advertising, Exhibitions, Trade Fairs and Advertising 4. From the business areas of the Reich Ministry of Posts and the Reich Ministry of Transportation: Traffic Advertising Furthermore, all radio matters dealt with by the Reich Ministry of Posts and the Reich Ministry of Transportation are transferred from the business area of the Reich Ministry of Posts, unless they concern the technical administration outside the premises of the Reich Broadcasting Company and the radio companies. In matters of technical administration, the RMVP shall be involved to the extent necessary to carry out its own tasks, in particular in determining the conditions for the awarding of broadcasting rights and the regulation of fees. In particular, the representation of the Reich in the Reichsrundfunkgesellschaft and the broadcasting companies is fully transferred to the RMVP. The RMVP is in charge of all tasks, including legislation, in the designated areas. The general principles shall apply to the participation of the other Reich Ministers." (RGBl. 1933 I, p. 449) These competences were exercised by seven departments, so that the business distribution plan of 1 Oct. 1933 (7) shows the following picture: Ministerial office (with five employees), directly subordinated to the Minister. State Secretary, at the same time Head of Press of the Reich Government I. Administration and Law with one main office Administration, three departments as well as the registry II. Propaganda with 10 departments 1. Positive world view propaganda, shaping in state life, press photography 2. Jewish question, foundation for victims of work, Versailles treaty, national literature, publishing etc. 3. Demonstrations and regional organisation 4. Opposing world views 5. German University of Politics 6. Youth and sports issues 7. Economic and social policy 8. Agricultural and eastern issues 9. Transport 10. Public health III. Broadcasting with three sections 1. Broadcasting 2. Political and cultural affairs of broadcasting 3. Organisation and administrative issues of German broadcasting IV. Press, simultaneously press department of the Reich government with eleven papers V. Film with three papers VI. Theatre, music and art with three papers VII. Defence (defence against lies at home and abroad) with eight papers Goebbels was obviously not satisfied with the official title of his ministry. The extensive tasks in the fields of culture and the arts did not come into their own and the word propaganda, of which he was aware, had a "bitter aftertaste" (8). His proposal to rename his department "Reichsministerium für Kultur und Volksaufklärung", however, met with Hitler's rejection. (9) In July 1933, a circular issued by the Reich Chancellor drew the attention of the Reich governors to the exclusive competence of the Reich or of the new Ministry for the above-mentioned competences and called on them to cede to the RMVP any existing budget funds and offices of the Länder. (10) At the same time, 13 regional offices were established as the substructure of the Ministry, the sprinkles of which corresponded approximately to those of the regional employment offices, and 18 imperial propaganda offices, which subdivided the territory of the regional offices once again. After the Reichspropagandastellen were already converted after short time (approx. 1934) to Landesstellen, in each Gau of the NSDAP a Landesstelle of the RMVP was located. Their leaders were in personal union at the same time leaders of the Gaupropagandaleitungen of the NSDAP, which in its leadership, the Reichspropagandalleitung, was also perceived by Goebbels in personal union. (11) As a result, conflicts of loyalty between the Gaupropaganda leaders/leaders of the RMVP regional offices were unavoidable in disputes between Goebbels and individual Gauleiters. According to theory, the regional offices were supposed to monitor and implement the political decisions made in the ministry in the individual districts, but in practice their heads were often more dependent on their respective Gauleiter than on the ministry due to the above-mentioned personal union. By the Führer decree of 9 September 1937 (RGBl. 1937 I, p. 1009), the Landesstellen were renamed Reichspropagandaämter and elevated to Reich authorities. After the integration of Austria there were no less than 42 Reichspropagandaämter with 1400 full-time employees. (12) In addition to the state offices and Reich Propaganda Offices, a whole range of offices, organizations, associations, societies and societies soon developed, which are to be counted to the subordinate area of the Ministry. (13) Despite the apparently clear regulation on the responsibilities of the RMVP, the 13 years of its existence were marked by disputes over responsibilities with other ministries, in particular with the ministers Rust, Rosenberg and Ribbentrop, of whom Goebbels, as is known, held very little personally. Successes and failures in the competence disputes cannot be followed in detail here; they depended to a large extent on Hitler's relationship with Goebbels. For example, Goebbels did not succeed in extending his competence in theatre to the Prussian State Theatres in Berlin. By contrast, in 1943 the RMVP assumed responsibility for carrying out the Eastern propaganda, while Rosenberg, as Reich Minister for the occupied Eastern territories, was left with only the authority to issue guidelines. (14) In the conflict with the Federal Foreign Office over the delimitation of responsibilities for foreign propaganda, an arrangement was reached in a working agreement in October 1941. (15) Wehrmacht propaganda also remained long and controversial. Despite many efforts (16), Goebbels did not succeed in making a decisive break in the competencies of the OKW/Wpr department until the end of the war in March 1945. Propaganda into the Wehrmacht and about the Wehrmacht at home and abroad was then to be taken in charge by the RMVP. It is not possible to determine whether the planned organizational consequences have yet been implemented. (17) Another major success for Goebbels was the establishment of the Reichsinspektion für zivile Luftschutzmaßnahmen (Reich Inspection for Civilian Air Defence Measures), which was headed by the RMVP (18), and his appointment as Reich Plenipotentiary for Total War Operations by Führer Decree of 25 July 1944 (19). For the last months of the Third Reich, Goebbels had reached the zenith of power with this function, apart from his appointment as Reich Chancellor in Hitler's last will and testament of April 29, 1945, which had become effective only theoretically. As Reich Plenipotentiary for the total deployment in war, he had extremely far-reaching powers over the entire state apparatus with the exception of the Wehrmacht. (20) Until that date, the competences of the RMVP had changed only slightly in the main features of all disputes over jurisdiction. That it nevertheless grew enormously and steadily until 1943 (21) was mainly due to diversification and intensification in the performance of its tasks. After 1938, the expansive foreign policy of the Third Reich necessitated further propaganda agencies to direct and influence public opinion in the incorporated and occupied territories. In the occupied territories with civil administrations, "departments" (main departments) for "popular enlightenment and propaganda" were usually set up in the territories with military administration, "propaganda departments", which exercised roughly the functions of the Reich Propaganda Offices. Their position between their superior military services and the RMVP, which sought to influence the content of the propaganda and from where part of the personnel came, was a constant source of conflict. As an indication for the weighting of the individual areas of responsibility of the Ministry in relation to each other, the expenditures for the individual areas in the 10 years from March 1933 to March 1943 are mentioned. With a total volume of 881,541,376.78 RM (22), the expenses for the Active propaganda: 21.8 Communications: 17.8 Music, visual arts, literature: 6.2 Film: 11.5 Theatres: 26.4 Civil servants and equipment: 4.3 Salaries, business needs, including film testing agencies and RPÄ: 12.0 By 1942, the RMVP and its division had been continuously expanded, before facilities in the subordinate area were shut down and departments in the ministry were merged as part of the total war from 1943 onwards. The business distribution plan of Nov. 1942 was as follows: (23) Ministerial Office, reporting directly to the Minister with adjutants, personal advisers and press officers of the Minister, a total of 10 employees State Secretaries Leopold Gutterer, Reich Press Head Dr. Otto Dietrich, Hermann Esser Budget Department (H) with 11 departments; reporting to the Head of the Department, the Main Office and the House Administration Personnel Department (Pers) with seven departments Legal and Organisation Department (R) with three departments Propaganda Department (Pro) with the following ten departments: 1. Political Propaganda 2. Cultural Propaganda 3. Propaganda Exploration 4. Public Health, Social Policy 5. Economy 6. Imperial Propaganda Offices 7. Major Events 8. Youth and Sports 9. Representation 10. Budget of the Department, Preparation of the Peace Treaties, Stagma and other Press Department of the Imperial Government I. Department German Press (DP) with 13 Speeches II. Foreign Press Department (AP) with 19 papers III. Journal Press Department /ZP) with five papers Foreign Press Department (A) with the following five groups: 1. Organization 2. Europe and Middle East 3. Non-European 4. Propaganda Media 5. Deployment abroad and in the Reich Tourism Department (FV) with four units Broadcasting Department (Rfk) with the following eight units 1. Coordination, Interradio and others 2. Broadcasting Command Office 3. Mob Department 4. Broadcasting Programme Support 5. Foreign Broadcasting 6. Broadcasting Industry 7. Broadcasting Organisation 8. Rundfunk-Erkundungsdienst Filmabteilung (F) with five departments Schrifttumsabteilung (S ) with eight departments Theaterabteilung (T) with seven departments Bildende Kunst (BK) with four departments Musik-Abteilung (M) with ten departments Reichsverteidigung (RV) with six departments Abteilung für die besetztischen Ostgebiete (Ost) with twelve departments Generalreferate with State Secretary Gutterer directly subordinated: 1. Exhibitions and Fairs 2nd General Cultural Department (General Cultural Department for the Reich Capital) 3rd General Department for Reich Chamber of Culture Matters 4th Technology (propaganda, radio, film, sound, stage, press, service installations of the RMVP) Press Recording Office for the PK reports of the Press Department of the Reich Government (directly subordinated to the Reich Press Head) A major change in this distribution of responsibilities took place in September 1944 (24). The art departments of theatre, music and visual arts were dissolved and merged into a single department of culture (cult). The East Department was integrated into the Propaganda Department as a main department, the Tourism Department was shut down and the General Departments of the Reich Cultural Chamber, Armaments and Construction and Propaganda Troops were dissolved. Notes (1) J. Goebbels: Vom Kaiserhof zur Reichskanzlei, p. 28. (2) R 43 II/1149, p. 5, excerpt from the minutes of the ministerial meeting of 11 March 1933. (3) R 43 II/1149, pp. 25 - 29, wording of Goebbels' speech of 16 March 1933 according to W. T. B. (4) R 43 II/1149, RGBl. 1933 I, p. 104 (5) J. Goebbels: Vom Kaiserhof zur Reichskanzlei, p. 293 (6) In an elaboration presumably by Goebbels on a "Reichskommissariat für Volksaufklärung und Propaganda" to be created (R 43 II/1149, pp. 49 - 53) further competences had been demanded. In particular, additional responsibilities were demanded of the German section of the RMI and section VI of the AA, as well as in foreign propaganda. (7) R 43 II/1449, pp. 126 - 133. Heiber gives a diagram of the organisational development of the RMVP at department level with the names of the department heads on the inside of the cover of his Goebbels biography. (8) See speech to representatives of the press on the tasks of the RMVP of 16 March 1933 in R 43 II/1149. It was not without reason that there was a language regulation for the press according to which the term propaganda was to be used only in a positive sense (R 55/1410, Decree of the RMVP to the RPA Nuremberg, 8 Nov. 1940). (9) R 43 II/1149, p. 169, Note by Lammers of 9 May 1934 on a lecture to the Reich Chancellor. (10) R 43 II/1149. (11) After the establishment of the Reichskulturkammer organization, they were also state cultural administrators in the substructure of the RKK. (12) Boelcke, Kriegspropaganda, p. 185. (13) Ebendort, p. 136 ff. there are hints for some institutions. (14) The Führer's order concerning the delimitation of responsibilities dated 15 Aug. 1943, cf. R 55/1435, 1390. (15) Boelcke, Kriegspropaganda, p. 126/127. (16) Lochner, Joseph Goebbels, p. 334, p. 442. (17) R 55/618, p. 123; cf. also the depiction of Hasso v. Wedel, the propaganda troops of the German Wehrmacht. Neckargemünd 1962, Die Wehrmacht im Kampf, vol. 34 (18) Führer decree of Dec. 21, 1943, R 55/441 (19) RGBl. 1944, p. 161, R 43 II/664 a. (20) This competence is virtually not reflected in the RMVP files available in the BA. However, it is well documented in R 43 II. See R 43 II/664 a. (21) See the annual budget negotiations on increasing the number of posts in R 2/4752 - 4762. (22) R 55/862, Statistical overview of monetary transactions. Accordingly, 88,5 % of the expenditure was covered by the licence fee. It remains unclear whether the old budgetary expenditure has been taken into account. (23) R 55/1314 According to this schedule of responsibilities, the files held in the Federal Archives were essentially classified. (24) Newsletter of 13 Sept. 1944 in R 55/441. Inventory description: Inventory history The RMVP records have suffered substantial losses, although the main building of the Ministry, the Ordenspalais am Wilhelmplatz, was destroyed relatively late and almost accidentally in March 1945. Large parts of the old registries, including the previous files from the Federal Foreign Office and the Reich Ministry of the Interior (1), had already been destroyed by air raids in 1944. Moreover, in the last days of the war before and during the conquest of Berlin by the Soviet Russian army, files were also systematically destroyed. (2) In view of the total collapse and devastation of Berlin by the air war, it is not surprising that hardly any manual or private files of RMVP employees have been handed down. Notable exceptions are, in particular, documents from Ministerialrat Bade (press department) (3) and hand files of the head of the broadcasting department, Ministerialdirigent Fritzsche. In this context, the diaries of Goebbels should also be mentioned, which, with the exception of those edited by Lochner in 1948, had been lost for almost 30 years. (4) The bulk of the volumes available in the Bundesarchiv Koblenz until 1996 was transferred from Alexandria (cf. Guide No. 22) and from the Berlin Document Center to the Bundesarchiv in the years 1959 - 1963. The personnel files still held back were added to the portfolio in 2007. The RMVP files kept by the Ministry of State Security of the GDR (mainly personnel files, personnel processes of the theatre, music and defence departments), which were stored in the so-called NS archive until 2006, are also assigned to the holdings. Not in Allied hands was only a small collection from the Music Department and some documents from the German Press Department, which were transferred to the Federal Archives in 1969 as part of the land consolidation with the Secret State Archives of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. Some original RMVP files can still be found at the Hoover Institution Standford, the Yivo Institute New York and the Wiener Library London. Fortunately, all three institutions were willing to produce microfilms for the Federal Archives (5). In 1974, the Rijksinstitut voor Oologsdocumentatie Amsterdam (Rijksinstitut for Oologsdocumentatie Amsterdam) kindly handed over some original fragments of files to the Federal Archives. In 1946, officers of the French and Soviet secret services found films of about 35,000 documents that had been filmed in the RMVP and buried near Potsdam at the end of the war with the help of an American mine detector (6). The films were taken to Paris to make re-enlargements of them, and it is possible that they will still be kept in the French secret service. The Americans apparently did not receive copies because they had withheld from the French documents of other provenance found in the CSSR. Only incomplete information is available about the content of the films; it can be assumed, however, that not exactly unimportant files have been filmed. Notes (1) Only a few handfiles and a few volumes on the promotion of music have survived. (2) Files of the Reichsfilmarchiv that had been moved to Grasleben/Helmstedt were even to be destroyed by agents of the RSHA when they threatened to fall into the hands of the English (cf. R 55/618). (3) Cf. Kl. Erw. 615, which is a selection of the bath papers from the time around 1933 in the Hoover library. (4) Frankfurter Allgemeine, 21 Nov. 1974, reader's letter. Insignificant fragments from Goebbels' estate from his student days can be found in the Federal Archives under the signature Kl. Erw. 254. (5) A collection of newspaper clippings concerning Goebbels in the amount of 82 Bde for the years 1931 - 1943 was not filmed at the Yivo-Institut. (6) See the documents in: National Archives Washington, RG 260 OMGUS 35/35 folder 19. Archival processing The order and indexing work on the holdings was relatively time-consuming and difficult, as the order of the files was extremely poor. On the one hand there were no detailed file plans or other registry aids for the mass of files from the budget and personnel departments, on the other hand the file management in the ministry, which at least in its development phase was always deliberately unbureaucratic, left a lot to be desired. Especially during the war, when inexperienced auxiliaries had to be used more and more during the war, the Ministry's staff often complained about the inadequacy of the registries. The organisation of the RMVP's records management showed typical features of office reform (1): Registries were kept on a departmental basis, with each registry having a "self-contained partial list of files". The documents were stored in standing folders (System Herdegen). Instead of a diary, an alphabetical mailing card was kept, separated according to authorities and private persons. The reference numbers consisted of the department letter, file number, date as well as an indication, on which card of an order file the procedure was seized. All in all, the files of the Budget and Human Resources Department were in a certain, albeit unsatisfactory, state of order when they entered the Federal Archives. Numerous volumes from the other departments, on the other hand, were formed in a chaotic manner, possibly as a result of a provisional recording of loose written material when it was confiscated. These were often amorphous and fragmentary materials that lacked the characteristics of organically grown writing. So it was practically impossible to form meaningful band units in all subjects. In the case of some "mixed volumes" with written material on numerous file numbers, only the most frequent ones were noted in the finding aid book. Due to the high loss of files, no strict evaluation standard was applied to the files. The main items collected were volumes from the budget department on preliminary checks in the subordinate area and individual procedures for the procurement and management of managed goods for the purposes of the Ministry. Formal records of non-compliant positions in the business division and a number of unarchivalable documents from the Human Resources Department will still be kept for the foreseeable future for the purpose of issuing service time statements. It is not listed in this guide. Preparatory work for the indexing of the Koblenz part of the stock was carried out by Mr. Oberarchivrat Regel (1967) with regard to the files of the budget department on the Reich's own film assets, Mr. Ltd. Archivdirektor Dr. Boberach (1966) with regard to correspondence and the reference files of the head of the broadcasting department, Hans Fritzsche and Ms. Archivoberinspektorin Schneider, née Fisch (1966) for files of the propaganda department. In 2005, the inventories of the finding aids of both sections of the Reich Ministry for Popular Enlightenment and Propaganda were imported into the database of the Federal Archives via a retroconversion procedure. The data records were then combined in a classification. Despite the inhomogeneity of the traditions of most specialist departments, it was advisable to maintain the division by departments. (2) Within the departments, the structure was essentially based on file numbers and factual contexts. The file numbers used in the RMVP were - as far as possible - used as aids for further subdivision. The final step was the integration of the personnel files and personal documents from the NS archive (approx. 5000 individual transactions) and the former Berlin Document Center (approx. 700 transactions). The documents taken over are mainly documents from the personnel department (in addition to personnel files also questionnaires and index cards), theatre (applications, appointments, confirmation procedures) and imperial defence (applications in propaganda companies). The personal records also contain isolated documents on denazification from the period 1946-1950. Since a relatively large number of individual transactions from the NS archives were often only a few sheets, transactions that objectively related to one transaction (e.g. applications for interpreting) were merged into one file. The names of the individual persons as well as the old signatures from the NS archive can still be traced via the BASYS-P database. Both the files from the NS archive and those from the former BDC are not always filed according to the provenance principle. However, the files were not separated again. Most of the files taken over from the former BDC are personal files and questionnaires as well as personnel index cards of individual employees of broadcasting stations. A search is still possible via the BASYS-P database. The procedures for the donation "Artist's thanks" still present in the personal records of the former BDC concerning the Theatre Department were not adopted in this context (approx. 15,000 procedures). The names are entered in the BASYS-P database and can be searched there. Notes (1) Rules of Procedure and Registration of 8 May 1942 in R 55/ 618. (2) The structure of the business distribution plan of Nov. 1942 was used as a basis. Abbreviations AA = Federal Foreign Office Department A = Department Abroad AP = Foreign Press BDC = Berlin Document Center BdS = Commander of the Security Police ChdZ = Chief of the Civil Administration DAF = German Labour Front DASD = German Amateur Broadcasting Service e.V. DNB = Deutsches Nachrichtenbüro DRK = Deutsches Rotes Kreuz Dt. = Deutsch DVO = Durchführungsverordnung french = French Gestapo = Geheimes Staatspolizeiamt KdF = Kraft durch Freude KdG = Kommandeur der Gendarmerie KdS = Kommandeur der Sicherheitspolizei Kl. Erw. Small acquisition KLV = Kinderlandverschickung LG = District Court MA = Military Archives, Department of the Federal Archives MdR = Member of the Reichstag MinRat = Ministerialrat MdL = Member of the Landtag NDR = Norddeutscher Rundfunk NSV = National Socialist Volkswohlfahrt o. Az. = without file number or date = without date OKW = Oberkommando der Wehrmacht OLG = Oberstes Landesgericht OLT = Oberleutnant ORR = Oberregierungsrat OT = Organisation Todt PG = Parteigenosse PK = Propagandakompanie RAVAG = Österreichische Radio-Verkehrs-AG Reg. Pres. RMI = Reich Ministry of the Interior RMJ = Reich Ministry of the Interior RMK = Reich Ministry of Justice RMK = Reich Chamber of Music RMVP = Reich Ministry of Education and Propaganda ROI = Reichsoberinspektor RPA = Reichspropagandaamt RPÄ = Reichspropagandaämter RPL = Reichspropagandalleitung RR = Regierungsrat RRG = Reichsrundfunkgesellschaft RS = Reichssender RSHA = Reichssicherheitshauptamt RSK = Reichsschrifttumskammer SBZ = Soviet Occupation Zone SD = Security Service SD-LA = SD-Leitabschnitt SDR = Süddeutscher Rundfunk Sipo = Security Police STS = Secretary of State and a. = among others v. a. = above all VGH = Volksgerichtshof VO = Regulation WDR = Westdeutscher Rundfunk ZSTA = Zentrales Staatsarchiv (Potsdam) citation method: BArch R 55/ 23456 Content characterization: Rounded delivery complexes are available only from the budget department and from the personnel department. From the point of view of financing and personnel management, they illuminate almost all areas of the Ministry's activities. From the specialist departments, the volumes from the Propaganda Department should be emphasized, which document above all the design of propaganda and the propagandistic support of foreign workers and resettled persons in the last years of the war. Also worth mentioning are mood and activity reports of individual RPÄ and suggestions from the population for propaganda and for leading the total war. In the Radio Department there is some material about the design of the radio program and the propaganda reconnaissance with reports about the opposing propaganda, which were compiled from the bugging reports of the special service Seehaus. A separate complex of this department are 14 volumes of pre-files from the RMI with handfiles of the Oberregierungsrat Scholz as representative of the Reich in supervisory committees of broadcasting companies in Berlin from 1926 - 1932. Of the film department there are only a few, but interesting volumes about the film production of the last war years with numerous ministerial documents. The majority of the theatre department's traditions are based on documents on professional issues and the Reich's dramaturgy. From the music department the promotion of musical organizations from the years 1933 - 1935 with pre-files from the RMI, the support and job placement of artists as well as material about the musical foreign relations is handed down. The files of the Department for the Occupied Eastern Territories offer rich sources for questions of Eastern propaganda. The losses are greatest in the departments Law and Organization, Magazine Press, Foreign Press, Foreign Countries, Tourism, Literature and Fine Arts. State of development: Publication Findbuch (1976, reprint 1996), Online Findbuch (2007). Citation style: BArch, R 55/...
This reference book is a slightly modified and, if necessary, corrected transcript of the distortion (including preliminary remarks) made by Dr. Renate Endler in 1957. The estate of the envoy Joseph Maria von Radowitz came to the Prussian Secret State Archives through two accessions (acc. 112/1933 and 339/1936). According to the deposit agreement, it was not allowed to be arranged and listed. It is therefore not possible to determine exactly what losses have been incurred as a result of the outsourcing and relocation caused by the war. There are certainly gaps in diaries and personal records. The stock, whose signatures were completely new, is structured as follows: It began with Radowitz's diaries and personal notes. The diaries begin with the year 1853 and are available with interruptions until 1909. Two copies of the memoirs are available. One is the concept of Radowitz's hand, the other one is a re-examined clean copy from another hand. Next comes correspondence, divided into correspondence with the family, alphabetical and chronological correspondence. The large number of available newspapers and newspaper clippings have also been sorted chronologically. These were mainly newspaper reports on the Algeciras Conference, which was held from January to April 1906. The estate of the father Joseph Maria von Radowitz (the Elder), which is kept here, may also be used for research. The estate was used by Hajo Holborn to publish the "Notes and Memories from the Life of Ambassador Joseph Maria von Radowitz", 1925. In the course of the current database entry by Ms. Pistiolis, the register entries for the chronologically ordered exchange of letters (B III No. 1-10) and the newspaper volumes (C No. 1 Vol. 1-3 and C No. 2 Vol. 1-3) were adopted as notes in the corresponding archive units. Box 44 also contains unordered items. Duration: 1839 - 1912 and without date Volume: 2.2 running metres To order: HA VI, Nl Joseph Maria of Radowitz (the year), No..... To quote: GStA PK, VI. HA Family Archives and Bequests, Nl Joseph Maria von Radowitz (the year) (Dep.), No.... Berlin, November 2013 (Chief Inspector Sylvia Rose) Biographical data: Joseph Maria von Radowitz was born on 19.5.1839 in Frankfurt/Main, where his father worked as Prussian military representative for the German Confederation. His mother, Maria von Radowitz, was a born Countess von Voß. Radowitz attended grammar schools in Berlin and Erfurt, where the family took up permanent residence after his father retired. After studying at the universities of Berlin and Bonn and completing his military service, Radowitz became an auscultator at the Court of Appeal on 25 April 1860. He was first employed at the City Court in Berlin in the Department of Investigative Matters and later at the District Court in Erfurt. In 1861 Radowitz, supported by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Baron of Schleinitz, and other friends of the family, entered the diplomatic career. He became attaché to the Prussian legation in Constantinople. In 1862, when he returned to Berlin, Radowitz passed the Legation Secretary Examination. After a mission led by Count Eulenburg concluded contracts with China, Japan and Siam in 1859, a Prussian Consulate General was to be established in China in 1862. Radowitz applied to be employed as a delegation secretary at this consulate and was accepted because the other candidates for the position of delegation secretary refused the mission to China. He served in Shanghai until November 1864, and in May 1865 Radowitz was appointed 2nd Legation Secretary in Paris, a post he held until 1867, with an interruption due to his participation in the war of 1866. The next stations in Radowitz's career were Munich and Bucharest, where he served as Consul General. In Munich he married Nadine von Ozerow, the daughter of the Russian envoy to Bavaria (1868). From 1872 to 1880, Radowitz was employed in the Federal Foreign Office, with appointments as ambassador in Athens (25 June 1874), the mission to Petersburg (1875), the Berlin Congress (1878) and the mission to Paris (1880). After his stay in Athens, Radowitz was appointed ambassador of the German Reich in Constantinople in 1882 (until 1892) and subsequently in Madrid, where he remained until 1908, when he retired from diplomatic service. In 1906, together with Count von Tattenbach, he was the German representative at the Algeciras Conference, which was held from January to April 1906. Joseph Maria von Radowitz died in Berlin on January 16, 1912. Literature: " H. Holborn (ed.), notes and memories from the life of Ambassador Joseph Maria von Radowitz. 2 Bde, Stuttgart, Berlin and Leipzig 1925 " H. Philippi, The Ambassadors of the European Powers at the Berlin Court 1871-1914 In: Lectures and Studies on Prussian-German History... Edited by O. Hauser. Cologne and Vienna 1983, pp. 159-250 (New Research on Brandenburg-Prussian History, vol. 2) " D. M. Krethlow-Benziger, Glanz und Elend der Diplomie. Continuity and change in the everyday life of the German diplomat at his posts abroad as reflected in the Memoirs 1871-1914. 2001, Bern, Berlin et al., pp. 554-555 (European Hochschulschriften: Reihe 3, Geschichte und ihre Hilfswissenschaften, vol. 899) " J. C. Struckmann in collaboration with E. Henning, Preußische Diplomaten im 19. Jahrhundert. Biographies and appointments of foreign posts 1815-1870. Berlin 2003, p. 193 u. ö. " H. Spenkuch, Radowitz, Joseph Maria. In: New German Biography (NDB). Volume 21, Duncker
History of the Inventor: Established in June 1936 by Heinrich Himmler's decree as Reichsführer SS and Chief of the German Police; the Main Office was responsible for the administrative and protective police (including traffic and water police), the gendarmerie, the municipal and Feuerschutzpoli‧zei police, and the Technical Emergency Aid Long text: Overview of the internal official organization of the Main Office Ordnungspolizei The Law on the Reconstruction of the Reich of 30 June 1936 provides for a comprehensive overview of the internal administrative organization of the Main Office. Jan. 1934 (RGBl. I,75) the police sovereignty rights of the countries were transferred to the Reich. As a result, a police department (III) was established in the Reich Ministry of the Interior on May 1, 1934, which, after the merger of the Reich Ministry of the Interior with the Prussian Ministry of the Interior in November 1934, was united with the police department (II) of the latter. Organizationally, this development came to an end on 17 June 1936 with the appointment of Heinrich Himmler as "Reichsführer SS and Chief of the German Police in the Reich Ministry of the Interior" (RGBl. I,487). By decree of 26 June 1936 (MBliV, 946), the Reichsführer SS and Chief of the German Police divided his authority into the main offices of Ordnungspolizei and Sicherheitspolizei and subordinated them to their own bosses. The head of the Ordnungspolizei was Kurt Daluege, the former head of the police department of the Reich and Prussian Ministry of the Interior, who became ministerial director and SS-Obergruppenführer (most recently general colonel of the police and SS-Oberstgruppenführer). On 31 August 1943 he was replaced by the General of Police and Waffen-SS Alfred Wünnenberg (m.d.F.b.) until the end of the war. The administrative police, the protective police (including traffic and water police), the gendarmerie, the municipal police, the fire police and the technical emergency aid belonged to the department of the order police. The Main Office of the Ordnungspolizei was divided into "offices", of which there were initially only two: the Office of Administration and Law (VuR) and the Command Office (Kdo). The Administration and Law Office was responsible for handling all administrative police, legal and economic tasks of the entire Ordnungspolizei. Until the end of 1938, it was divided into departments, then into official groups, groups, sub-groups and subject areas. In the course of the organisational changes in the main office of the Ordnungspolizei it was dissolved in September 1943 (see below) and was headed by Ministerialdirektor Bracht until 1943. The command office dealt with all management and other general service matters of the order police. It was initially divided into offices and, since the end of 1940, into groups of offices according to the military model, etc. such as the Office of Administration and Law. From September 1943 there were special inspections at the Command Office for the technical fields of work (communication and motor vehicle systems, weapons and equipment) as well as for veterinary, air-raid protection and fire-fighting matters. The heads of the office were Lieutenant General von Bomhard (until October 1942), Lieutenant General Winkelmann (until March 1944), Major General Diermann (until July 1944) and Major General Flade (until May 1945). These two core offices of the Ordnungspolizei main office were joined by two other offices in the course of 1941. By circular decree of the Reichsführer SS and Chief of the German Police of 14 January 1941, the Colonial Police Office was established in preparation for the colonial deployment of the Ordnungspolizei. However, it lost its importance with the deterioration of the military situation in 1943 and was dissolved in March 1943 by order of the Führer. On 9 May 1941, the Fire Brigades Office was formed as the fourth office and on 30 December 1941, the Technical Emergency Assistance Office was formed as the fifth office in the Ordnungs- Polizei main office. Fundamental changes in the organization of the Ordnungspolizei main office occurred after Himmler's appointment as Reich Interior Minister (August 1943). With effect from 15 September 1943, the offices of Administration and Law, Fire Brigades and Technical Emergency Aid were dissolved. The tasks of the Office of Administration and Law were mainly transferred to the two new bodies, the Economic Administration Office and the Legal Office. However, the legal office was dissolved at the beginning of December 1943. The majority of his areas of work came to the Office of Economic Administration. By the end of the war, this office had essentially taken over the tasks and position of the old administration and law office again. Its chief became the SS-Obergruppenführer and general of the Waffen-SS and police August Frank from the SS-Wirtschaftsverwaltungshauptamt. Most of the areas previously dealt with by the Fire Brigades and Technical Emergency Aid Offices fell to the Command Office, parts also to the newly formed "Reichsämter" Volunteer Fire Brigades and Technical Emergency Aid. The designation "Reichsamt" expressed the special character of these organizations as public corporations. As an office directly subordinated to the head of the Ordnungspolizei, the Sanitäts-Amt, which was detached from the Kommando-Amt (Amtsgruppe III) on 1 Oct. 1944, is to be mentioned. Relocation measures during the war (For this and the following section compare: Jürgen Huck; alternative places and file fate of the main office Ordnungspolizei in the 2nd World War in: Neufeldt, Huck, Tessin: Zur Geschichte der Ordnungspolizei 1936 - 1945; Koblenz 1957) Until 1942, most of the Ordnungspolizei main office was housed in the old office building of the Prussian Ministry of the Interior in Berlin NW 7, Unter den Linden 72/74. In the course of the year 1942, the office administration and law was transferred to Berlin-Halensee, Kurfürstendamm 106/107. His successor, the Wirtschaftsverwaltungsamt, had to leave the building as a result of bombing and in February 1944 moved into an office building in Berlin-Lichterfelde, Unter den Eichen 126, together with the official groups I (Economy) and III (Accommodation) and the group "Personnel". The official group II (administration) sat in the barracks camp in Berlin-Zehlendorf, Potsdamer Chaussee, and the official group IV (supply and law) in the building Unter den Linden 72/74 until its dissolution in February 1944. At the end of March 1944, after parts of the group "Personal" and the official group II had already gone to Biesenthal, the entire economic administration office was transferred to the alternative camp "Heidenberg" near Biesenthal/Mark in the district of Oberbarnim. After the air raid of 23/24 November 1943 had severely damaged the building Unter den Linden 72/74, the Kommando Office was transferred to the barracks of the alternative camp "Paula" near Biesenthal in December 1943. Only the inspection L (Luftschutz) remained in the service building in Berlin, Schadowstraße 2, until April 20, 1945. The inspection Feuerschutzpolizei (in the Offiziersschule der Ordnungspolizei in Eberswalde), parts of the inspection Veterinärwesen (in Cottbus) and parts of the personnel groups (in the Offiziersschule der Ordnungspolizei in Berlin-Köpenick) were accommodated elsewhere. The group "War History" was transferred to the Waffenschule der Ordnungspolizei in Dresden-Hellerau in August 1943 and one year later to the castle of Prince Carl von Trauttmannsdorff in Bischofteinitz near Taus (Bohemia). On the other hand, the parts of the motor vehicle inspection initially transferred to Dresden were moved to Biesenthal in November 1944, so that this inspection was closed in the "Paula" camp until April 1945. In March 1945, the relocation to Potsdam-Babelsberg was ordered for the offices of the Chief of Ordnungspolizei in and around Berlin. As a result of the rushing war events, this and other projects (Suhl and Weimar) could not be carried out. At the end of March/beginning of April 1945 it was therefore decided to divide the main office of the Ordnungspolizei into a south and a north staff. The division of services between the two staffs is opaque. The mass, however, has been assigned to the south staff. In the 2nd half of April, the "Süd" task force moved to the officers' school of the Ordnungspolizei in Fürstenfeldbruck. A large part of his staff was dismissed here. On April 28, 1945, the miniaturized working staff drove to Eben/Achensee (Tyrol) and was captured by the Americans in mid-May 1945 in Rottach-Egern (Tegernsee). The "North" task force left Biesenthal on 18 April 1945, reached Flensburg via Lübeck at the beginning of May and was captured there by the English at the Harriesleefeld fire brigade school. Inventory description: Inventory history Reference: Koblenz Inventory Fate of the files of the Main Office Ordnungspolizei The mass of files of the Chief of Ordnungspolizei must be considered lost. The processes that led to this loss are still largely in the dark. We are relatively well informed about the fate of larger parts of the old registries of the Chief of the Ordnungspolizei, which mainly contained files of the former police departments of the Prussian Ministry of the Interior and the Reich Ministry of the Interior as well as those of the Prussian State Police dissolved in 1935/36, and about the files of the group "War History". The old registries of the Chief of the Ordnungspolizei were located in the so-called "Archive of the Main Office of the Ordnungspolizei", which was renamed "Aktenverwaltung des Hauptamtes Ordnungspolizei" from October 1941 on the objection of the General Director of the State Archives. During the war, the holdings of this file administration can be found in the service buildings Unter den Linden, Kurfürstendamm and Breitestraße. From 1941 to 1944, about 8,500 volumes of files from the police department registries of the Prussian Ministry of the Interior, taken over by the head of the Ordnungspolizei, were handed over to the Prussian Secret State Archives in Berlin-Dahlem. The Secret State Archives had for the most part outsourced these files to Central German mines. From there, together with the other outsourced holdings, they probably came to the Central State Archives II of the GDR in Merseburg. Files of unknown size of the police department of the Reich Ministry of the Interior, mainly through the Schutz- und Kriminalpolizei-, which had been taken over by the head of the Ordnungspolizei in 1936, arrived in 1941/42 from the Hauptamt Ordnungspolizei to the Reichsarchiv in Potsdam, where they were most probably destroyed by the air raid of 14./15. 4. 1945. The files of the Prussian State Police from 1933 to 1935, which were transferred to the Wehrmacht in 1935, appear to have been transferred to the Army Archives in Potsdam during the war. Here they were probably burned as a result of the air raid of April 1945. Far more incomplete than the old registries are our knowledge about the fate of the current registries at the Main Office Ordnungspolizei. At the end of the war the following registrations have to be proved: O - Adjutantur O - HB Head Office O - Jurist O - Kdo Adjutantur O - Kdo WF Weltanschauliche Führung O - Kdo Org/Ia Organisation, Einsatz, Führung O - Kdo I - Ib Nachschuf O - Kdo I Ausb Ausbildung O - Kdo I Sp. Sport O - Kdo I KrG War History O - Kdo II P O - Kdo II P Allg) Personal Data O - Kdo II P R 1) O - Kdo II P Disciplinary Matters 2) O - Kdo II P KrO War Orders and Decorations of Honor 3) O - Kdo In K Inspection Motor Vehicles 4) O - Kdo In N Inspection Communications 5) O - Kdo In WG Inspection Weapons and Appliances 6) O - Kdo In L inspection air raid protection 7) O - Kdo In F inspection fire police 8) O - Kdo In Vet inspection veterinary 9) O - W personal data 10) O - W verse supply 11) O - W I economy 12) O - W II administration and law 13) O - W III accommodation 14) O - medical 15) O - I. - S Inspector General of the Schutzpolizei O - I. - G Inspector General of the Gendarmerie and Schutzpolizei der Gemeinden 16) O - I. - Sch Inspector General of the Schools O - I. - FSchP Inspector General for Fire-fighting 17) (Fire Police and Fire Brigades) O - I. - FwSch Inspector General for Firefighting 18) extinguishing system (fire schools, factory fire brigades and fire show) 19) O - RTN Reichsamt Technische Nothilfe 20) O - RFw Reichsamt Freiwillige Feuerwehren 21) Secret registry Most of these 35 running registries seem to have been completely lost. Only the following incomplete news about their whereabouts have become known to the Federal Archives so far. A part of the personnel files of the command office (registries O-Kdo II P) seems to have been moved in 1943/44 in agreement with the Reichsamt Technische Nothilfe to the castle Eisenhardt in Belzig/Mark (TN school). His fate is unknown. Another part came in spring 1945 first to the police administration Gera, then to Weimar or Gschenda, Kr. Arnstadt, was temporarily brought back to Biesenthal and went in April 1945 with the south staff to Fürstenfeldbruck. Already in Biesenthal the mass of files about the law for civil servants burned, and further losses entered on the march from there to Fürstenfeldbruck by low-flying fire. In Fürstenfeldbruck and at the beginning of May 1945 in Eben, the mass of the files carried along by members of the South Staff was burned. The personnel files of the Economic Administration Office (registry O-W Pers.) were moved to Thuringian towns together with those of the Commando Office in the spring of 1945. They arrived via the police administration in Gera at the Linda police supply camp near Neustadt a. d. Orla - according to other news also to Gschwenda - and returned to Biesenthal for a short time when the Americans arrived, after considerable parts had been burned in Thuringia due to a misunderstood radio message. From there, they were taken to Fürstenfeldbruck by the hourly staff in April 1945, losing their lives in air raids. Here and in Eben, most of the files were destroyed at the end of April/beginning of May 1945. According to other sources, however, it was burned in Maurach/Achensee at the beginning of May 1945 according to further files. A special fate had the files of the group "War History" of the command office (registry O-Kdo I KrG). In the course of the war, a "special archive" had been created for the group through the release of material from the area of the Ordnungspolizei that was important for the history of the war. Among its best sands, the diaries of the SS Police Division established in 1939, the 35th SS (Police) Grenadier Division established in 1945, the SS Police Regiments, the Police Shooting Regiments, the police battalions and other police troop units, as well as a collection of the most important decrees of the Main Office of the Ordnungspolizei (Ordnungspolizei - Ordnungspolizei - Order Police Department) are to be emphasized. These valuable documents were completely destroyed at the end of April/beginning of May 1945 by members of the group "War History" in Bischofteinitz/Bohemia. It is still unclear to what extent the records of the chief of the Ordnungspolizei are kept today by GDR offices. It is only certain that the holdings "Reichsministerium des Innern" of the Central State Archives I in Potsdam under Dept. III contain 46 volumes about the police from the period 1934 to 1937 and personnel files from the main office of the Ordnungspolizei. The remains of the personnel group registries not destroyed in Fürstenfeldbruck and Eben, and apparently also parts of other registries of the Main Office Ordnungspolizei, were confiscated by the Americans. After the occupation of the Offiziersschule der Ordnungspolizei in Fürstenfeldbruck, the police inspected the files they had found, took them to a warehouse, transported them away in the autumn of 1945, leaving behind the person of no interest to them. The material remaining there from the personnel registry of the Economic Administration Office was transferred directly to the Federal Archives in November 1954 via the Bavarian Main State Archives, Dept. I, that of the Command Office in January 1955 and in July 1957 from the Bavarian Police School Fürstenfeldbruck. As early as December 1956, about 550 personnel notebooks of the Kommando-Amtes with the initial letters M - Z had arrived here, which, initially confiscated, had been handed over by the American military government to the Command of the Schutzpolizei in Wiesbaden in 1949 and there - with a stock of originally about 900 notebooks - had been reduced by the handing over of documents about reused police personnel to their office. The main mass of the removed files, however, was first transferred to the file depot of the U.S. Army (Departmental Records Branch) in Alexandria/Virginia and filmed within the Records Group 1010/EAP 170 - 175 (Microfilm Guide 39). The transfer from there to the Federal Archives took place in April 1962. Further file takeovers took place from documents that had initially been brought together in the Document Center in Berlin - first in 1957 personal files on gendarmerie officials via the Hessian Ministry of the Interior, then in 1962 on a larger scale and directly in connection with the so-called Schumacher Collection of documents from various organizational units and at about the same time Daluege's reconstructed files from biographical materials of the Adjutantur of the Chief of Ordnungspolizei. Other provenances that have been grouped according to biographical criteria can still be found in the Berlin Document Center. In the summer of 1957, the former chief of the command office, Lieutenant General of the Ordnungspolizei a. D. Adolf v. Bomhard, two volumes of files personally secured by him (R 19/282 and 283) and, in addition, the documents listed under C in the Annex. 1958 followed tax, salary and wage documents of former employees of the main witness office of the Ordnungspolizei of the Versorgungsanstalt des Bundes und der Länder in Karlsruhe. Finally, files of the Reich Office Voluntary Fire Brigades were handed over by the Oberfinanzdirektion Hamburg in 1957 and 1964. Archival evaluation and processing Reference: Koblenz stock In view of the insignificance or absence of other records handed down by the police and the need under pension law for proof of service time for members of the police force, a thorough cassation was dispensed with. On the other hand, in order to fill at least some of the gaps in the status quo, not only the official printed matter of the Main Office Ordnungspolizei was listed, but also important matters concerning the Ordnungspolizei from the holdings of the Federal Archives R 43 (Reich Chancellery), R 18 (Reich Ministry of the Interior), R 2 (Reich Ministry of Finance), R 22 (Reich Ministry of Justice), NS 19 (Personal Staff Reichsführer SS), NS 7 (SS and Police Jurisdiction) and R 36 (Deutscher Gemeindetag (German Community Day) were incorporated, without the aim of completeness. On the other hand, the stocks R 20 (chief of the gang combat units; schools of the order police) and R 70 (police services of integrated, affiliated and occupied areas of the 2nd world war), which must be consulted anyway with appropriate investigations, were completely omitted. When classifying the stock, it was not possible to structure the stock in accordance with the registry principle, given the incomplete nature of the preserved files, any more than it was possible to do a close analogy to the administrative structure of the main office. Therefore, an ideal structure of the competence area of the Main Office Ordnungspolizei was developed which was adapted to the importance of the subject areas actually handed down in the inventory. Dr. Neufeldt, Mr. Huck, Mr. Schatz, Dr. Boberach, Dr. Werner and Mr. Marschall were particularly involved in the chronological order in which the inventory was developed. Koblenz, October 1974 Content characterization: Adjutant of the Chief of Ordnungspolizei 1933-1945 (24), Dienststellenverwaltung 1933-1945 (50), Nachrichten- und Befehlsblätter, Erlasses, Besprechungungen 1933-1945 (41), Orga‧nisation and Zuständigkeit 1933-1945 (58), Haushalt 1933-1944 (9), General service law and police service law 1931-1945 (37), courses and schools 1930-1945 (89), assessment, promotion, secondment and transfer of members of the police 1931-1945 (38), remuneration and pensions 1933-1945 (19), Criminal and disciplinary matters 1937-1945 (8), uniforms and orders 1933-1945 (8), Comradeship Association of German Police Officers 1933-1945 (6), personnel statistics 1938-1945 (7), accommodation, equipment and armament 1933-1945 (8), Sanitäts- und Vete‧rinärwesen, Polizeisport 1933-1945 (12), Polizeiverwaltungs- und Vollzugsdienst 1935-1945 (93), Einsatz von Polizeiverbände und -einheiten 1933-1945 (108), Personalakte 1917-1945 (1.067), State Hospital of Police in Berlin. Medical records (ZX) of patients 1940-1945 (1946) (3,149), file of the State Hospital of Police in Berlin (n.a.) State of development: Findbuch (1974) Citation method: BArch, R 19/...
Letters to teacher Küchler from Lutindi, especially from Katakula 1899-1902, Mjomba, 1901-1902, Samuel Stepke, 1901-1902; Letters to Missionary Rösler especially from:; Lazalo Shauli, also diaries and other articles Hosbach's statements on Shaulis death, 1905-1923; Silas, 1905; Tito Hiza, n.d. ; Mfuzi Solomo, 1915; Mfuzi Daudi, 1916; Jeremias Kika, 1915; Job Kunyonga, 1914; Luka Sefu, 1914 u. 1918; Johana Mtungasi, 1913; Ruben Mutangi, 1914 and 1916; Enea Mutunguja, 1914 and 1917; notes by Jakobo Ngombe on experiences during and after the war, 1914-1923; letters by Jakobo Ngombe to Hosbach and Gleiss, 1925-1927; letters to Missionary Gleiss and student essays, 1921
Evangelical Missionary Society for German East AfricaContains also:- Diary of Brother Thomas Rothkegel, 1913-1925- Lexikon zu Kamerun, from "Amulette" to "Zauberer", o.J.
PallottinesLetters from Joel Kibera to Bertha Johanssen, 1930-1932; letters from Joel Kibera to Ernst Johanssen and Curt Ronicke, 1930-1933; letters to Ernst Johanssen from various senders, including by Alexander Kielima, Josua Hermas, G. A. Kajejero, Jakobo Ngombe, Kamara Kalembo, Andrea Kyaishozi, Petero Habugumisha, Yakobo Kajuma, Ernest Kalembo, Yuhi Musinga, Kamanzi, Saulo Kagya, Yusufu Hiliyai, and many more.., 1927-1933; Letters from local Christians translated into German, among others by Joel Kibira, Josua Hermas, Jakobo Ngombe, Lukas Sefu, Andrea Kajejero, Abel Mutungudja, Samuel Stepke, 1922-1934; transcriptions and replies, 1922-1934; travel diaries "Safari ya Bukoba Heft I u. II, 1929-1930; 2 booklets Grammatische Übungen, 1932
Evangelical Missionary Society for German East AfricaIntroduction 1st history of ownership The Detmold stock L 51 Foreign ownership of Lippe is divided into several local subgroups. The connection of these places consists in the fact that they contain different lippic rights (possessions, claims, pledges and bailiwicks) outside the closed territory. On the one hand it is a zone not far from the actual dominion area in the north or north-west (Enger, Bünde, Quernheim and Dünner Mark as well as Ulenburg), on the other hand it is also more distant areas such as the Beyenburg an der Wupper office, the sovereign dominion of Vianen south of Utrecht and the Freckenhorst monastery near Münster. In terms of time, however, the files on the individual groups are far apart, as they contain events from the 15th to the end of the 18th century (apart from copies of older documents supposedly dating back to 1031). Beyenburg was part of the duchy of Jülich-Kleve-Berg, but had served as the widow's seat of Countess Maria von Waldeck, who died in 1593. After this, negotiations and the actual takeover as a pledge by Count Simon VI zur Lippe took place, whereupon the administration by his officials (from 1597), which lasted for a decade, and the quite soon redemption by Jülich (1607) took place. The Lippe administration consisted of three persons, the rent master Wilhelm von Pylsum, who was taken over by Jülich and replaced by Hermann Kirchmann in 1602, another bailiff and the forester. The affairs of the office are reflected above all in the correspondence of the rent master and the bailiff with the count to the Lippe. In addition, account books and lists of receipts and expenditures have been preserved, and the two changes of government each led to an inventory of the rights and goods held there. The fact that the dismissed rent master of Pylsum and Count Simon VI also had a dispute over the years with Lippe has also found its expression in the records. In the village of Bünde, the Lippe rights consisted mainly of market duties, which are documented for some years (1551-1560) as well as external interventions against these rights. The office of Enger had been pledged to Bishop Wilhelm von Paderborn by the noblemen of Lippe in 1409. In the 16th century, the counts of zur Lippe repeatedly attempted to trigger the pledge at the Dukes of Jülich, to whom Enger had meanwhile come. Special activities developed in this respect under Count Simon VI in the years since 1576. The recovery did not succeed because there were disagreements about the exact scope of the pledged office. However, due to the establishment of a commission to delimit and record the Lippic rights there, protocols were drawn up containing an inventory of Enger around 1578. The files of the Quernheim monastery refer to the women's abbey there, the bailiwick of which the Counts of Lippe had held since the 13th century. In the 16th century, the abbesses there made frequent use of them, for example to protect their own people against attacks by representatives of the Minden monastery, but also against the town of Lübbecke and the Counts of Diepholz, and also to safeguard their claims for logging and pig fattening and for possessions and disagreements in the convent. In the end, the monastery became dependent on Minden after the departure of some sisters, against which even a joint action of the Counts of Lippe and the monastery of Osnabrück before the Imperial Chamber Court could not do anything. However, in the 18th century, the Counts of Lippe still had the bailiwick of Osnabrück as a lord over them. The Ulenburg collection is particularly extensive. The Lippe feudal sovereignty over this castle was established in 1470 and resulted from a successful feud between Lippe and the city of Herford against the Lords of Quernheim. Already the period before the later direct exercise of Lippe's power is well documented, because apparently the written estate of the last owner Hilmar von Quernheim was taken over. Hilmar, a Danish colonel in the service of Denmark and a drost of various masters, was involved in numerous legal disputes, such as a dispute with his cousin Jasper von Quernheim over Haus Beck, a property that often appears in the Ulenburg files. Hilmar's conflict over the sovereign rights claimed by the Minden monastery, in which his liege lord Simon VI soon supported him to the Lippe, and which continued after Hilmar's death ( 1581), had more consequences. Now the Ulenburg was claimed as a fief fallen home by Simon VI and after a long dispute with Minden it was finally claimed. When Minden handed the Ulenburg over to Lippe at the end of 1593 after an imperial penal mandate, the conflict was not over, as the condition of the castle was not satisfactory for Count Simon VI. In a continuation process (until 1607) numerous witnesses were questioned by an imperial commission and extensive lists of the income of the Ulenburg were drawn up. Although the Ulenburg reached the von Wrede family via Philipp zur Lippe-Alverdissen as early as the beginning of the 17th century, after their bankruptcy Lippe once again briefly took over the dominion there (around 1708 to 1711). Apparently the documents inventoried at that time were kept and then brought to the archive in Brake. Among them are also the files and numerous books of accounts from the end of the 16th century up to the time of von Wrede and her bankruptcy. From the Ulenburg, after their takeover, the older Lippe rights were administered in the Dünner Mark, such as the timber court there, which was also disputed with the Minden monastery. The relevant files can also be found in the Ulenburg collection. In contrast to the other subcases, the Freckenhorst Act only refers to a specific political process outside Lippe, namely the election of a new abbess. After the death of Abbess Margarete zur Lippe, Count Simon VI attempted to have his daughter Elisabeth elected as his successor, which found support in Freckenhorst but was prevented due to the intervention of the Münster Monastery in favour of a Catholic candidate. Thus it is basically not a "foreign possession" of Lippe. The dominions of Vianen and Ameide as well as the Burgraviate of Utrecht passed from the von Brederode family to the Counts of Dohna (1684). Through her heiress Amalie zu Dohna, the wife of Simon Heinrichs zur Lippe, the Dutch exclave came to Lippe in 1686. On September 3, 1725, however, it was sold to the Dutch General States, but the Vianisches Archiv remained, as far as family matters in the broadest sense were concerned, with the Haus Lippe in accordance with the contract. It contains numerous documents of the last members of the House of Brederode (Johann Wolfert, Wolfert and Hedwig) and their heirs Carl Emil and Amalie from the family of Dohna, including correspondence with the extensive relatives to whom financial obligations also existed due to a Fidei compromise regulation for Vianas. For exactly this reason, the later-born members of the house Lippe (Agnaten) saw themselves injured with the sales of Vianen in their there claims and went before the imperial chamber court. In Wetzlar they finally had success, which is why the ruling Counts zur Lippe had to pay compensation and now tried to sue their own responsible persons. Thus, the Lippe protagonists in the sales negotiations, President Christoph von Piderit and Government Councillor Blume, were confronted with accusations which led to a trial of the Lippe tax against the former president. Due to these later legal disputes, the materials of the internal administration of the Vianen dominion were preserved in order to document their legal and financial condition. Therefore these matters can be traced in detail, especially the payments of the rent masters Peter Inghenhouse (1679 still until at least 1698), Elisa Gordon (parallel to it since approx. 1694 to 1721, before already secretary, later mayor), Wolfert Louis van der Waal (interim 1721), Arnold Henrik Feith (1721-1724), Henrik van Dortmond (1725) as well as the special envoy Simon Henrich Blume (1725/26 respectively 1727/30). In addition, the Drost (Drossart) appeared, first for years Jacques de l¿Homme de la Fare, then from 1710 to 1725 Jean Henry Huguetan (married van Odijk, later Count Güldensteen) and other councillors, who together formed the government council of Vianen established in 1681. All those involved in administration cumulated several posts and, after their departure, often still dealt with their previous affairs, making it difficult to delimit them. This kind of administration seems to have been taken over from the time of von Brederode and during the intermezzo under Carl Emil to Dohna quite uninterruptedly under the Lippe rule, as well as personal continuities and connections (Elisa Gordon was related for instance to the family van Dortmond, this again with Jobst B.). Barckhausen). Nathan van Dortmond, who came from Vianen, even managed to climb the rank of Landgographer in Lippe, while councils from Germany were only active in Vianen in the early and late Lippe period, such as Justus Dietrich Neuhaus, Theodor Fuchs and Simon Henrich Blume. 2. inventory history The first six subgroups of the inventory L 51 were arranged by Johann Ludwig Knoch according to factual aspects, arranged and listed with quite detailed information in his find book. This kind of distortion depended very much on his preferences, which is why invoices and the like or sources about the subjects were kept, but hardly noticed. At the beginning of the files formed by Knoch there are often copies of late medieval documents, which mostly became legally relevant for later events, which only emerge in the further course of the often chronologically sorted compilations. Not only is the overall title of Auswärtiger Besitz somewhat imprecise due to the inclusion of the appointment of an abbess in Freckenhorst, which was decided to Lippe's disadvantage. Also the subdivisions were carried out schematically in such a way that connected processes were formally correctly separated into individual proceedings, but which belong to each other objectively (for instance the case Hilmar von Quernheim against Erich Dux, at least Drosten von Hausberge, as well as against his rule, bishop and cathedral chapter of the monastery Minden). In addition, bundles of remains appear, the distribution of which Knoch had still planned but not realized on different subject groups (L 51 No. 46, 160, similar to Vianen No. 265/66, and on mixed matters, No. 267), or also scattered individual pieces, which belong to a common process (affairs of the Colonel Alexander Günther von Wrede, L 51 No. 43, 55, 62). Some of these have no connection whatsoever with Lippe's external possessions, such as extracts from the minutes of the Reichskammergericht (L 51 No. 160) belonging to various trials. The invoices of the Beyenburg office (L 51 No. 14) also contained a bundle with letters on otherwise unrelated extra-lippic property titles (in Sommersell, Kariensiek and Entrup in the Oldenburg velvet office), which Knoch had still provided with his typical marginal notes at the upper margin and sorted chronologically, but without recording them. The situation is very similar with the invoices for a building that Count Simon VI had erected on Prague Castle Hill from 1608 (No. 120). There are apparently two further subgroups of the foreign property in the state of origin, which were not taken into account in Bnoch's find book and in the classification of the holdings. Furthermore, Knoch had laid out some files about the subjects of the Ulenburg, but had provided them with the remark nullius momenti (without meaning) in his find book and had not listed them more closely. In it, however, there are quite interesting matters from the end of the 17th century (L 51 No. 100 and. 101), such as letters of release, estate inventories of simple people, complaints about beer adultery or registers of persons together with their land and cattle. The seventh subgroup with the files on Vianas was apparently added to inventory L 51 only later. A part of the material came to Detmold only in 1726, to which were added the relevant entrances already present in the residence and the material of the later processes. Although Knoch has still inscribed individual files at the beginning and end of the partial stock (L 51 No. 265-267), its indexing is missing, at least in the preserved find book L 51. When the files on the proceedings of the family at Dohna were sought out again after 1772 because of the intervention of the Prussian King Frederick II, Knoch also became active, as a family tree and some remarks by his hand prove (L 51 No. 191). In the seventh subgroup, Vianen, there are on the one hand the entrances relating to the reign. In addition, there are materials which were brought to Detmold in 1726 when the archive at Batestein Castle in Vianen was divided. These files were apparently reassembled for later investigations and processes, but the L 3 stock, which did not contain only documents, was separated. Later orders of the Vianen substock were only carried out at a shallow depth. In principle, the present order seems on the one hand to go back to the structure of the matter for the Wetzlar Imperial Chamber Court process, which was conducted with the Lippe co-heirs, as also shown by corresponding notes (so to L 51 No. 218, No. 223), but on the other hand it concerns the annexes to the report of the later investigative commissions on the role of the Lippe councillors in the sale of the dominion. All in all, it is a rather colourful mixture of the most varied pieces from the administration of the dominion, which have to do not only with the period under the Counts of Lippe, but also with earlier centuries, above all from the reign of the von Brederode family and from the decades after the sale. The use by the Count of Lippe of the money obtained from the sale of vianas is also documented in detail. In addition, the private documents of Countess Amalie zur Lippe, née Dohna, have also been included in the documents about her inheritance, the dominion of Vianen, even if they had nothing to do with it directly. A part of the correspondence about and from Vianas was unfortunately arranged schematically (obviously not by Knoch) by sender. Thus the original factual connections were partly torn apart, which are now scattered over the directory units L 51 No. 268 to 285. The Vianen sub-collection also contained a collection of remnants, including copies of medieval documents, beginning with the foundation of the Abdinghof monastery [1031], and other documents, some of which are completely unrelated or only in connection with the collection, such as the possession of the Count of Geldern in the vicinity of Vianen or refer to ancestors of the Brederode family (such as Knight Arnold von Herlaer). Their inscription speaks for itself, for instance (L 51 No. 267): Quodlibet of collected individual pieces of file, of which the persecution, to which they belong, can perhaps still be found, or (ibid.) old news, of which perhaps still some use can be made. The collected printed matter (L 51 No. 255) and diaries, including the records of the secretary of Hedwig von Brederode for 1679 and 1680, but also an anonymous description of a sea voyage to America (1776), are more related to Vianas. The first evaluation of the inventory was carried out according to the state of the distortion. Since Count Simon VI. zur Lippe played a particularly important role in many of the parts of L 51, August Falkmann often referred to it in his work about this ruler in a way that owes much to the Bone Regests. Besides Falkmann, Otto Preuß also took a closer look at the materials for Ulenburg for the first time, while this pioneering achievement for Beyenburg was performed by Werhan. Peter van Meurs, who was involved in the drawing of the Vianic inventory L 3 in The Hague until 1909, probably also evaluated parts of L 51 VII for his work on the heritage of the House of Brederode. The inventory consists of 286 units in now 85 cartons; the oldest (transcribed) document in it allegedly originates from 1031, the most recent from 1796. The inventory took place from 17 October to 15 December 2004. On the one hand, the aim was to proceed in a more analytical and summarizing manner in order to better emphasize the characteristics of the nudes; on the other hand, the materials not yet considered by Knoch, the later rearrangements and additions, and the almost completely unexplored subcontent of vianas were to be recorded in an equivalent manner or, for lack of other finding aids, even deeper. It should be noted that in particular the documents on Vianas are written not only in German, but also in French, Dutch, Latin and rarely in English, which could not be listed here individually due to the frequent change of languages (often within documents). A unit listed in a previous record could not be described in detail as it appears to have been missing since 1999 (L 51 No 286). Technical defects forced the repeated processing of the indices. An old signature index was not created, since the bones were sometimes assigned signatures inconsistently or its units were divided again by later rearrangements and insertions. However, the exact concordance can be seen in the Bone Findbuch, in which the new signatures were entered. For conservation reasons, most of the posters were taken from the files, some of which belong to related matters, such as a replica of a sham letter from a trial of Hilmar von Quernheim, proclamations of laws of the dominion of Vianen and the neighbouring Dutch territories, but also those concerning other matters, such as a signed order of soldiers of the imperial commander-in-chief Wallenstein from the Thirty Years' War. Some of these posters were used as file covers. The withdrawal notes could not initially be printed for the distortion units. Since the holdings concern Lippe's foreign possessions and claims, materials on these can also be found in other archives, above all those of the neighbouring Reich estates, such as the Duchy of Jülich (HStA Düsseldorf) for Beyenburg, Enger and Bünde. There are also sources on Ulenburg and Haus Beck in other archives. For the trials of Hilmar von Quernheim and Count zur Lippe by the Imperial Chamber of Justice there is a counter tradition mainly in the State Archives of Münster (RKG Q 113-116, ibid. L 629/630), as well as in the formerly inseparable Wetzlar holdings (now the Federal Archives) and in numerous other archives. The files of Haus Beck are deposited in the Stadtarchiv Löhne, while the corresponding materials have reached the Stadtarchiv Bielefeld at Ulenburg. There is also further tradition of the enfeoffment of the Quernheimers with the Ulenburg. For the reign of Vianen and Ameide the materials in Detmold go back to the Middle Ages, since here the older documents of the Lords of Brederode can be found, mostly in L 3 (some also in L 51 No.214, 229, 265; in addition prints or regests of older documents of the House of Brederode, ibid. No. 210 and 243, respectively), a stock which for the later period possesses parallel files to L 51 and also extends into the period after the sale. Of course there is additional delivery in the Netherlands. For the spread of materials from Sommersell and neighbouring places, L 89 A No. 231-233 should also be used. The extensive material collections and party files on the Reichskammergerichtsprozessen über Vianen and the sporadically appearing RKG files in L 51, which do not belong to the actual subject matters of this collection, could be assigned on the basis of the already existing index. Already in 1785 files sent back from Wetzlar to the Reichskammergerichtsprozeß about the sale of Vianen have reached the inventory L 95 I. The quote is as follows: L 51 No. (order number) Detmold, December 2004 Dr. Otfried Krafft
BestandsgeschichteThe 2668 indexing units recorded in this repertory form only a fragment of the original registry of the Consistory, albeit a very considerable one, as it was before the authority moved to Düsseldorf in 1934. With the help of the surviving handwritten and typewritten file indexes, the losses and relocations that occurred can be reconstructed exactly. The chronology spans more than forty years:I) As early as 1931, extensive file holdings were catalysed within the consistory. The basis for this decision, which was made due to an acute shortage of space in the Koblenz office building, was a list drawn up in 1929 by Consistorial Chief Inspector Mähler ('Sale of files for destruction'). Fascicle A II 1 a 9 (no. 28) provides summarised information on the file groups concerned:- Travel expenses (A II 1 b 2 and 5) until 1920- Office requirements (A II 1 b 3) until 1920- Forms (A II 2 31) until 1920- Publication of the official gazette (A II 2 35) until 1920- Accounting for the official gazette (A II 2 37) until 1915- Invoices incl. receipts for the church gazette (A II 1 b 2 and 5) until 1920- Invoices for the church gazette (A II 2 37) until 1915. Invoices incl. receipts for the church's ancillary funds until 1910- Collections until 1910- Collection receipts until 1920- Collections relating to applications for parish positions until 1925 Applications for parish positions up to 1925- Business diaries up to 1900- Budget files up to 1905- Property files up to 1905- Supplementary files up to 1905- Religious orders for clergy (B V a 14) up to 1910- Support for clergy and parish widows (B V b 29 u. 86) until 1910- Grants of leave for clergymen (B V b 64) until 1910- Contributions to the parish widows' and pension fund (B V b 89f.) until 1910- Pension fund accounts (B V b 93f.) until 1910- Remarks on pensions and widows' and orphans' allowances for clergymen (B V b 91 and 95) until 1910- Allowances from the subsidy fund (B V b 104) until 1910- Instructions on retirement allowances for clergymen (B V b 105) until 1910- Insurance contributions to the retirement allowance fund (B V b 106) until 1910- Employment of vicars from the vicariate fund (B VII b 19) until 1905- Teaching vicariate of the candidates (B VII b 17) until 1910- Cash matters of the vicariate fund (B VII b 20) until 1910II) In September 1934 - immediately before the move to Düsseldorf - the following files were destroyed for reasons of space according to a note by Mähler: - old diaries up to 1914- old budget files up to 1915- old files on pensions, widow's benefits etc. up to 1920- old files on support payments up to 1920 until 1920- old files on support for clergy and parish widows- old files on the awarding of commemorative marriage coins- old files on the house collection delivery fund until 1910- old files on 'Miscellaneous'- old files on the publication of the church gazette until 1920- old files on the assignment of teaching vicars up to 1925- old collections on collection proceeds up to 1920- old files on church taxes up to 1905- old annual reports of the superintendents up to 1932The files of the Cologne Consistory, which was dissolved in 1825, were also transferred to the Düsseldorf State Archives in 1934 and survived the war. In today's Main State Archives, this collection with a total of 512 volumes (duration 1786-1838, mainly 1815-1826) is assigned to Department 2 (Rheinisches Behördenarchiv). (4) A parallel transfer of 525 files from the period 1816-1827 was made to the Koblenz State Archives, where they formed fonds 551. Unfortunately, this was completely burnt during the air raids on Koblenz in 1944. The same fate befell fonds 443 (Fürstlich Wiedische Regierung in Neuwied), into which some consistorial files were integrated under nos. 143-161. Only the finding aids of these two fonds are still available in the Landeshauptarchiv Koblenz. Further consistorial files were assigned to the following fonds:Fonds 309, 1 (French General Consistory Mainz) No. 1-17Fonds 381 (St. Wendel State Commission) No. 17-33Fonds 382 (St. Wendel Government) No. 420-502Fonds 387 (Landgravial Hessian Government Homburg) No. 187-295The fonds 309, 1 and 387 are still in the LHA Koblenz, the other two are now on permanent loan to the Landesarchiv Saarbrücken.III) In 1936-1937, after lengthy negotiations with the Staatsarchiv Koblenz, the consistorial files in the narrower sense, which began in 1826ff. and had initially also been handed over, were returned to the Provinzialkirchenarchiv. The latter had been located in Bonn since 1928 and had had its own premises at Hofgarten 13 since 1936. There is a 46-page compilation of these extensive holdings by Lic. Rodewald from 1938. (5) These are predominantly the older files from the 19th century, but also, for example, the documents from the 1914-1918 war period; in any case, these were files that were still considered to be of purely historical value and were deemed to be dispensable for business operations.IV) On 14 November 1939, the consistory issued a circular to the superintendents about the possibility of handing over the examination papers of deceased pastors to family members. The background to this was a request from the now provincial church archivist Lic. Rosenkranz, who sought to alleviate the acute shortage of space in the Hofgarten. It initially lists 31 pastors whose documents had already been sought out by Rosenkranz. (6) The examination papers that had not been requested were then to be destroyed in February 1940. The action was continued eight more times until February 1943, when it fell victim to the war-related restrictions in the consistory's operations. (7) The only condition for requesting files was to send in 50 pfennigs return postage. A total of 908 pastors were listed. It is not possible to ascertain which documents were actually requested back by the families and thus saved from later destruction.V) On 12 November 1943, the Koblenz State Archive Director Dr Hirschfeld, in his capacity as air raid warden, asked the Consistory to remove the files stored in Düsseldorf (8). This was rejected on the grounds that the (current) personnel files were already located in an air-raid shelter recognised as bomb-proof; structural safety measures would now be carried out immediately for the remaining files. These are documented in a cost estimate from architect Otto Schönhagen, the head of the provincial church building office, dated 10 December 1943: The registry facing Freiligrathstraße is to be fitted with protective walls for a modest 720 Reichsmarks. It can be assumed that these alterations were realised at the beginning of 1944. In any case, the files remaining at the consistory itself survived the war without any recognisable losses.VI) On the other hand, the building at Hofgarten 13 was completely destroyed in the air raid on Bonn on 18 October 1944. The fire had reached the cellar so quickly that both the older personnel files of the pastors and the consistorial files brought back from Koblenz in 1937 were completely lost. In contrast to the old pertinent holdings of the provincial church archives and the church records, these holdings were not removed from storage. This is by far the greatest loss that the original consistorial records have suffered, especially in the 19th century. It can be quantified as around 400-600 volumes of subject files (generalia and specialia) and an even higher number of personal files. In this repertory, the previous volumes that were burnt are listed under the heading 'Remarks'; the frequently occurring skip numbers in the inventory signatures indicate the complete loss of a file. A detailed reconstruction of the holdings destroyed in Bonn - which is entirely possible - would require a comparison of Rodewald's list with the available handwritten indexes of files. Fortunately, to a certain extent there is a replacement in the form of the files of the Oberpräsidium der Rheinprovinz in the LHA Koblenz. (9) Important material that is otherwise not available in Düsseldorf is also contained in the Rhine Province section of fonds 7 (Evangelischer Oberkirchenrat) in the EZA Berlin. (10)VI) On 24 February 1972, the regional church office decided to transfer the files of the former consistory to the regional church archives, which was long overdue. (11) Until then, they had been regarded as registry property - despite the fact that some of them dated back to 1826 - and were also administered by the registry. As a general pruning of the registry also took place in 1971 in connection with the move to the new LKA office building in Hans-Böckler-Straße, the special files of the church districts and parishes were subsequently removed from the consistorial files and combined into separate holdings (31 church districts and 41 local files). Unfortunately, the separation was not complete, so that a considerable number of files still remained in the consistorial holdings. In this repertory it is always noted when the subsequent volumes are in fonds 31 or 41. Conversely, in the typewritten finding aids for these two fonds, it is noted which previous volumes can be found in the consistorial files.Usage informationThe following printed file plan of the Consistorial Chancellery dates back to the 19th century and was updated until the 1940s. The indication 'n.a.' (no files available) for individual subgroups may indicate complete loss due to the effects of war. As a rule, however, the files in question have been removed as outlined above and added to newly formed fonds. This also applies to all personnel files. In addition to the indexing units listed here, there are also the 90 surviving business diaries for the period 1928-1948, for which no archival cataloguing aids have existed to date. A typewritten alphabetical subject index of the existing files, compiled in 1931 by the registrar's office at the time, was available, albeit without any duration information. Two further large handwritten indexes of files were initially written in one hand around 1850 and then updated over a period of almost 100 years. (12) Many of the files listed there have since been lost. Nevertheless, the two indexes continue to be of great significance, as they indicate the file transfers and resignations within the consistorial registry and only with them is it possible to reconstruct the lost holdings. The undersigned has compared the contents of these records. It was not possible to completely standardise their extremely different levels of indexing intensity. The present repertory is therefore not 'from a single mould'. The index of this printed version only includes the names of places and persons as well as a few selected subject headings. A complete keyword search is possible via the database of the EKiR archive. the files of the consistory cover almost all facets of church life in the Rhine Province. The records for the period of the Weimar Republic and the Nazi regime up to 1945 are almost completely preserved. In contrast, the files from the First World War, for example, are largely lost, not to mention the often rudimentary records from the 19th century. From the scholarly use to date, one cannot help but get the impression that the latent mistrust of wide ecclesiastical circles in the Rhineland towards this authority has been reflected in research since its foundation. In addition, there may have been an understandable aversion towards individual consistory employees who were involved in the church struggle. In many recent works, at any rate, reference is still made to contemporary historical collections and quite relevant bequests without taking the original official records into consideration, and it is to be hoped that a relaxed - and of course never uncritical - approach to this highly informative material will enrich our knowledge of the Protestant church history of the Rhineland. Düsseldorf, 31 October 2001(Dr. Stefan Flesch)1 Cf. on the following Max Bär: Die Behördenverfassung der Rheinprovinz seit 1815 (Publikationen der Gesellschaft für Rheinische Geschichtskunde 35), Bonn 1919 (ND Meisenheim 1965), pp. 153-164; Werner Heun: Art. Konsistorium, in: TRE vol. XIX, pp. 483-488; on the general ecclesiastical law and ecclesiastical politics, see Die Geschichte der Evangelischen Kirche der Union, ed. by J.F.Gerhard Goeters and Joachim Rogge, Leipzig 1992-1999, passim2. On this Bär, op. cit. p. 162: 'The governments were left only with the supervision of the church registers, the care for the establishment and maintenance of the churchyards, the ordering and enforcement of the police regulations necessary for the maintenance of external church order, the supervision of the administration of assets and the appointment or confirmation of the secular church servants to be employed for the administration of church assets and the supervision of them and, together with the consistory, the modification of existing and introduction of new stolgebührentaxes and the modification of existing and formation of new parish districts. '3 Today's address: Konrad-Adenauer-Ufer 12 Cf. history of the city of Koblenz vol. 2, Stuttgart 1993, p. 426f.4 The holdings of the North Rhine-Westphalian Main State Archives. Brief overview, Düsseldorf 1994, p. 98. A 30-page compilation of the files handed over can be found in A II 1 a 9 vol. I.5. B I a 29 vol. IV6. Circular no. 11073 in B I a 29 vol. IV, in alphabetical order: Heinrich Wilhelm Achelis; Hugo Achenbach (+1908); Julius Achenbach (+1893); August Bergfried (+1922); Friedrich Wilhelm Rudolf Böhm (+1867); Emil Döring (+1925); Georg Doermer (+1888); Heinrich Doermer (+1839); August Ludwig Euler (+1911); Karl Furck (+1911); Gustav Adolf Haasen (+1841); Julius Haastert; Philipp Jakob Heep (+1899); Gustav Höfer; Paul Kind; Karl Margraf (+1919); Daniel Gottlieb Müller (+1892); Andreas Natrop (+1923); Christian Friedrich Nelson (+1891); August Penserot (+1866); Reinhard Potz (+1920); Eduard Schneegans (b. 1810); Philipp Jakob Stierle (+1887); Eduard Vieten (+1869); Josef August Voigt (+1869); Johann Gustav Volkmann (+1842); Reinhard Vowinkel (+1898); Friedrich Weinmann (+1860); Friedrich Wenzel (+1909); Gustav Wienands (+1929)7 Ibid. March 1940 (48 names), November 1940 (33 names), September 1941 (47 names), February 1942 (123 names), July 1942 (118 names), October 1942 (128 names), November 1942 (176 names), February 1943 (204 names)8 A II 1 a 9 vol. I (vol. no. 28). Cf. on the overall problem the article by Petra Weiß: Die Bergung von Kulturgütern auf der Festung Ehrenbreitstein, in: Jahrbuch für Westdeutsche Landesgeschichte 26 (2000), pp. 421-4529. Cf. Inventar des Bestandes Oberpräsidium der Rheinprovinz, Teil 1 (Veröffentlichungen der Landesarchivverwaltung Rheinland-Pfalz Bd. 71), Koblenz 1996, pp. 42-45 and 396-40910. Christa Stache: Das Evangelische Zentralarchiv in Berlin und seine Bestände, Berlin 1992, pp. 61-64 as well as a handwritten repertory especially of the Rhineland department (copy available in the AEKR Düsseldorf). The fonds comprise approx. 25 linear metres.11 LKA-Sachakten 23-2-3 Bd. 3 (Beschluss); cf. also the letter from Archivrat Schmidt dated 9 September 1971 in 22-28 Bd. 212. All the finding aids mentioned are kept in the repertory collection of the Landeskirchliches Archiv.
1844-1847 in Capeland, 1848-1852 in Worchester, Otjikango, Okahandja, Otjimbingue, leaving, from 1852 preacher at the Cap, Paarl; sacred poems and songs, composed and recorded by Friedrich Wilhelm Kolbe in his youth, octavheft, not published.Diary for Mr. Eickhoff, Gütersloh, with 7 drawings and explanations, 1847-1848; letters and diaries from various locations, including "Bericht über d. Überfall Jonker Afrikaners auf d. Missions-Station Schmelens Erwartung", 23.08.1850; rehearsal of the Rhine. Missionspresse, 1849; Report on the death of his wife Isabella Kolbe, née Elliott, 1893;
Rhenish Missionary SocietyLetters and diaries, 1854-1864; 2 letters from Heinrich Kleinschmidt (son), businessman, 1886-1887; correspondence and documents for family research of the Kleinschmidt families (proof of Aryans), 1933-1943; accompanying letter from Elger Kleinschmidt, 1978
Rhenish Missionary SocietyContains among other things: Records concerning the Japanese in Schantung Conditions in Japanese prisoner-of-war camps Extract from a diary of records from the Fukuoka prisoner-of-war camp Memorandum on the foreign colonial areas which could be considered new acquisitions at the conclusion of the peace Treatment of German prisoners of war in Japan "Tokushima-Anzeiger", Zeitschrift für das Gefangenenheim, No. 15 bis 17, July/Aug. 1915
German Imperial Naval OfficeDescription of holdings: Abt. 40 Gemeindearchiv Herrnsheim (before 1945) Scope: 307 archive cartons 2 lfm Amtsbücher (= 2538 units = 49 lfm) Duration: 1445 - 1945 The preface to the present holdings Abt. 40 - Gemeindearchiv Herrnsheim (bis 1945) - des Stadtarchivs Worms is intended to give a brief insight into the development of the registry and archive material on the one hand at the time of its safekeeping in the Bürgermeistei Herrnsheim, and on the other hand since its takeover by the city of Worms. Subsequently, the indexing work is explained, with reference to special features and supplementary holdings. A short outline of the local history is sent in advance in the wording of the inventory overview of the Stadtar-chiv Worms, literature references to deepen the information on the local history can be found as an appendix to this foreword. I. About the local history about four km northwest of Worms; first mentioned in documents in 771; after the chamberlains of Worms (gen. von Dalberg, knightly family) had further enlarged their property in the village im-mer and extended their rights, they received it in 1375 as a fief (de facto rule in the village, market and court); Philipp Kämmerer von Worms made the village his residence: around 1460 construction of a castle on the site of today's castle, at the same time fortification of the village; 1470-92 reconstruction of a chapel of the parish church St. Peter (with numerous altars, patronage: monastery St. Peter's Abbey); 1470-92 conversion of a chapel of the parish church St. Peter (with numerous altars, patronage: monastery St. Peter's Abbey St. Peter's Abbey St. Peter's Abbey St. Peter's Abbey St. Peter's Abbey St. Peter's Abbey). Cyriakus/Neuhausen) to the family grave (thus situation of a small residence, which is well readable from a structural point of view until today); 1581 introduction of the reformation by Kurpfalz, 1635 extensive cremation of the place, Dalbergische local rule up to the end of the old empire; around 1900 approx. 2100 inhabitants; 1798-1814 French rule, from 1816 Grand Duchy and/or Volksstaat Hessen; 1816 Kanton Pfeddersheim, 1835 Kreis Worms, 1848 Regierungsbezirk Mainz, 1850 Regierungsbezirk Worms, 1852 - 1942 Kreis Worms; incorporation into Worms on 1.4.1942. II. municipal registry and archive In 1826, in accordance with the government decree of 25.7.1826, a register of the collections of laws, ordinances and instructions available in the Herrnsheim archive was compiled. The archive was refurbished in 1830/31 in connection with the construction of the new community centre. New furniture was commissioned and manufactured, including a filing cabinet for the archive and another for the mayor's office. Also the receipt of the Wwe. Ph. Ch. Schöneck from Worms of 20.4.1831 about 12 guilders and 19 cruisers for the repair of 28 steep cartons for the Bürgermeisterei-Archiv in Herrnsheim gives an insight into the file storage in Herrnsheim. On 30 October 1830, a circular was sent to all the provincial mayor's offices concerning the management of the files, concerning the "Order of the Provincial Municipal Archives". It is demanded that the official documents be sorted according to the aforementioned headings, that the files be sorted chronologically according to objects until 1830, then stored in cardboard boxes or cupboards in closed premises. The latter requirements were met - as explained above - in the new furnishing of the community centre. According to the circular, all receipts should be attached and the collection completed by 1 February of each year. On 27 March 1838 Mr. Völcker was commissioned by the district council to revise the municipal registry in Herrnsheim. In accordance with the registration plan for the mayors, he should inspect and arrange the documents on site and only receive his fees if he has completed this work in accordance with the regulations. Obviously this was not the case, because on July 26, 1838 the county council of Staedel assigned Mr. Peth from Bermersheim with the order of the municipal registry in Herrnsheim. A further inventory, which now also includes the files, was created for the community of Herrnsheim - presumably between 1905 and 1910 for valuation for insurance purposes. In the care of the mayor were an archive cabinet, two large file cabinets, a small file cabinet and an old file box. In addition to official and legal gazettes, various ordinances, handbooks and technical literature, 56 fascicles, the value of which could not be determined, are listed for the registry plan groups I - XXVI. In the following, numerous fascicles are listed both with details regarding assignment to the registry plan, duration and evaluation. Particularly noteworthy are e.g. the fair protocol book of 1716, guardianship bills and wills etc. 1699-1821, official and court protocols 1778-1798, fire register 1817, 1835 and 1848 as well as a new one. Also a local building plan (3 sheets), which is no longer available after current distortion, is proven in this inventory, estimated at 200 Marks. It should also be noted that there were several murals in the town hall, the Duke Dalberg, Emperor Wilhelm I, Emperor Wilhelm II and the Empress as well as members of the hess. Grand Duke's family, there were also other pictures, one, the volcanic eruptions showed another, the battlefield around Metz. The files mentioned in this inventory, which the registrar kept, seem to be available except for the volume listed here Birth, marriage and death registers 1780-1798. The next overview of the municipal archive Herrnsheim is provided in 1937 by Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Becker with his compilation of the inventories of the municipal archives of the district Worms. Here Prof. Henkelmann from Bensheim checked the existence of the community Herrnsheim and according to the file groups of the hess. The registry plan of 1908 is summarized. It should be noted that the oldest pieces mentioned here, e.g. the Morgenbuch (1626-1666; Dept. 40 No. 370), the Verordnungsbuch des Franz Heinrich Käm-merer von Worms Frhr. v. Dalberg (from 1742; Dept. 40 No. 1), the instrument of those at Neuhau-sen, about the provision of two Geharnischter at Herrnsheim (1445, no. 5), baker's order of 1736 (copy, dept. 40 no. 371) as well as further pieces already listed above in the inventory at the beginning of the 20th century, e.g. the fair protocol book, official and court records. In October 1914, the decree book of Franz Heinrich Kämmerer v. Dalberg as well as the instrument of those of Neuhausen were made available for use by the Grand Ducal Hessian House and State Archive in Darmstadt on behalf of the former Referendar Müller. Note: It is noticeable that the municipal council minutes are not available as a complete series, the earliest protocol book even only in 1836 begins. It is to be assumed and in comparison to other church archives as unusual to notice that this volume was at all the first protocol volume for Herrnsheim. It was acquired on 3 May 1836 alongside various other registers. According to the inventory (see above) three volumes were available at the beginning of the 20th century (1836/40, 1856/75 and 1875 ff), the pieces were valued at 90 marks. At least for the absence of a ribbon an explanation could be found in the files. The former mayor Brandt refused the publication of the protocol book in 1856. In 1986, the city archives once again attempted to investigate the failure of the municipal council records between 1840 and 1919, but the then head of the town Josef Wolf had to fit as well. There is also a gap in the series of municipal accounts with the corresponding volumes of deeds between 1924 and 1940. For the years after 1940, the accounts as well as the accounts and the corresponding documents of the Geschwister-Zimmer-Siftung for the period between 1921 and 1941/42 are missing. The loss of some files or the one or the other transaction can be explained by the fact that it happened that these were lost during the loan e.g. to the district office in Worms. For this reason, Herrnsheim refused to hand over correspondence with Freiherr Heyl'schen Güterverwaltung concerning the question of space for the fire station of the fire brigade to the Hessian Building Department in Worms. On his cover letter it was noted: did not happen, otherwise the files (like so many before already) would not be findable any more one day. In order to prevent the loss or destruction of files by air raids, Martin Fell and his wife were requested by the local administration on 21.9.1942 to secure important documents every evening and to salvage the files in the event of damage to the town hall caused by air raids. On 29.4.1943, in the course of the incorporation of Herrnsheim, the files were first transferred to the cellar of the Cornelianum in Worms. On the basis of the different file aprons the different used Regist-raturplans can be recognized, first 1836, then 1908 and finally after 1942 (with the inscription 'Stadtverwal-tung Worms'). Some file covers were preserved as samples in abbot 40 no. 2532 - no. 2534). For the fascicles belonging to the classification group XXI.09. Dalbergische Grundstücksangelegenheiten, the file aprons have inscriptions similar to those shown for files in Dept. 159. III. listing The written material taken over in the course of the incorporation 1943 was registered in the 70iger years after the Bär'schen principle, whereby as a rule the titles of the office books and minutes as well as those after the hess. file plans from 1836 or 1908 on the file aprons were taken over traditional inscriptions. This first registration work originally comprised 371 units, whereby the last registered units (from no. 331) were supplemented at later dates and comprised a running time until 1966. On 24 June 1971, the then District Court Director Dr. Heinz Pfannebecker handed over 12 documents to the City Archives, which obviously originated from the provenance of the Herrnsheim Mayor's Office. Most recently, in 2002, title recordings of sources from the still unlisted partial stock were made in connection with Volker Brecher's work on the war economy in Worms. Here, files were taken into account that were thematically related to prisoners of war, foreigners, etc. for the period between 1938 and 1950. In the inventory of Dept. 40, which had already been recorded, a few files exclusively with the term after 1945 were taken into account in the first registration. These were segregated and returned with the still unlisted part of the stock, which also included files after 1945, in order to be processed later in connection with Dept. 6 Municipality of Worms (after 1945). Since individual files may have already been used under their old signature, a list of these pieces can be found in the appendix of this finding aid book, which is currently stored in 29 archive boxes (plus some loose pieces) in the magazine of the Raschi-Haus (Regal 25) together with the total of six linear metres of written material after 1945. With the new indexing of the inventory Abt. 40 - Gemeindearchiv Herrnsheim - was started in December 2005, the indexing work was completed in July 2006. In addition to the written material already listed, unlisted material was also taken into account. The indexing work was carried out according to the Bär principle, whereby a new numbering inevitably resulted with the dissolution of earlier larger indexing units, i.e. new signatures were assigned for these documents. Therefore a concordance between old and new signatures was created and attached to this find book. The entire inventory was entered into the AUGIAS archiving program and simultaneously indexed (company, location, person and subject index). The basis for the classification was the hess. The file plan of 1908 was chosen and modified and supplemented according to local needs. For reasons of data protection, approx. 140 files were provided with blocking notices for use. The relatively high number results from the fact that a large number of civil documents are available for which the Civil Status Act provides guidelines for use or non-use. Thin folders from the period around 1930/40 were collected, which contained Generalia - often only in the size of 2-3 sheets - and had no direct reference to matters in Herrnsheim; in addition, two bundles of calibration maps were sorted out, which have no informative value whatsoever. In total, the scope of the cassation covers three archive boxes. The municipal archive Herrnsheim is kept to the extent of 2538 units of description (numerically up to 2534) in 308 archive boxes (49 linear metres, of which 2 linear metres are official books). The duration ranges from 1445 to the 1970s, with a focus on the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century. Despite incorporation in 1942, the cut for the index was set at 1945 so that two border data did not have to be taken into account within only three years, i.e. 1942 as the year of incorporation on the one hand, 1945 as the border year for the files handed down by the city administration before 1945 (Dept. 5) and after 1945 (Dept. 6) on the other. Therefore, the files were left in Dept. 40, in which at least one document from 1945 was still contained - irrespective of whether the temporal focus of the file tended to concern the period after 1945. IV. State of preservation The state of preservation of the files and official records of the present municipal archives can be described as good by and large. Unfortunately a larger number of pieces affected with mould is to be registered in particular under the calculations and documents, as well as the handbooks and diaries over incomes and expenditures: 45 with light mould infestation, with mould and water damages 7 pieces and 14 volumes are sport and have mould milk damages. Besides, a part of the document books to the calculations as well as a large number of the handbooks and diaries (approx. 140 pieces, i.e. approx. 5.5 es total stock) show beside mould and spores also water damages. Ten official books (invoice receipts and property tax section directories) are bound in such a way that parchment, which as a rule is inscribed with liturgical texts, forms the spine of the book in second use. Also thread-stitched files, as known from Prussian administration, can be found in Dept. 40. These are the official records (Protocollum Judicale, Dept. 40 No. 295 - 298). V. Tips for the use of the inventory The signatures of the individual sources are indicated with : City Archive Worms Dept. 40 No..... The often underestimated significance of the following sources should be pointed out here. In the volumes of documents relating to the invoices, in addition to newspapers (e.g. Dept. 40 No. 2409), there are also work chords (Dept. 40 No. 2469), invoices of various companies (Dept. 40 No. 2502), e.g. on work performed and material used for it (Dept. 40 No. 2504). The correspondence registers (e.g. Dept. 40 No. 651, No. 652) were also kept in full text in some years, so that the complete correspondence between the higher authority or private persons on the one hand and the mayor's office on the other hand can be traced in connection with the corresponding fact files. The significance of the inventory of estates as a source genre for genealogical, social and economic research should be pointed out in particular. The inventories are in the present stock under the classification group X.02.e. Inheritances and guardianship matters registered. There are also files on asset sharing and wills. For ease of use, the units of description have been sorted roughly alphabetically by surname, with all occurring surnames "underlined" at the same time. With regard to the index of persons, it should be noted that in very few exceptional cases the correct alphabetical order was broken. If the usual spelling of a common name was extremely changed, the allocation was made within the normal one, e.g. 'Pardong' instead of 'Bardong', here the classification took place under 'B'. If family names were used with equal weight in different spellings and their proximity was recognizable within the alphabet, no standardization or assignment was made, e.g. Ertelmeyer/Erdelmeyer. The company index was created so that smaller businesses in the municipality, which normally only run under the personal name (e.g. J. Hübner, Buchdruckerei), could also be recorded. It would be very difficult to find small companies within the index. Now the list can be flown over within the company index - also in case of classification (depending on how the transaction is usually called) partly under the first name, partly under the last name or under the business object. The prefix "Fa." was omitted because it was not used regularly [possibly also at different times] even by one and the same company. That's why it's uncertain to what extent he's really part of the name. Apo counters and restaurants mentioned by name were also included in this index. General designations such as locksmith's shop and glazier's shop have been added to the index. VI. supplementary archive holdings Dept. 13 No. 1777 'Gewerbebetriebe zu Herrnsheim' (1860-1888) Dept. 30 Hess. Kreisamt Worms (e.g. files in the area of trade supervision, admission to the Hessian state association) Abt. 49 Gemeindearchiv Pfeddersheim (Herrnsheim as a municipality belonging to the canton of Pfeddersheim) Abt. 159 Herrnsheimer Dalbergarchiv Hess. State Archive Darmstadt: Family Archive of Dalberg (Dept. O 1 A-B) VII Literature BARDONG, Otto, Harlesheim - Herlisheim - Herrnsheim. Contributions to local and parish history, in: Herrns-heim 771-1971, edited by Otto Bardong, Worms 1971, pp. 43-104. BÖNNEN, Gerold (edited on behalf of the city of Worms), Geschichte der Stadt Worms, Stuttgart 2005. WOLF, Jürgen Rainer/SPENGLER, Hugo (Bearb.), Family Archive v. Dalberg (Dept. O 1 A-B) 1424-1846 (= Repertories of the Hessian State Archive Darmstadt 22/1), Darmstadt 1985. Herrnsheim. Portrait of a community, edited on the occasion of the 1225th anniversary in 1996 by the local community of Worms-Herrnsheim.
1852-1853 in Bethanien, Otjikango; letters and diaries from missionary holidays, 1848-1850; letters and diaries from Africa, also from Emmy Haupt (1854 married to Georg Zimmer), Gorth's bride, d. did not find him alive anymore, 1851-1853; transcript from "Hessische Biographien": "Gorth, Matthäus, Missionar, 1823-1853", edited by Hermann Haupt, Darmstadt, 1918; photocopy of the obituary for Matthäus Gorth in the reports of the RMG;
Rhenish Missionary SocietyI. The history of the von Linden family: The von Linden family originally comes from the diocese of Liège. The progenitor is a certain Adam van Linter, who is mentioned in documents 1604-1615 and who was the owner of the estate in Hoeppertingen (Belgian Limburg). His son Peter, who probably emigrated to Franconia because of the political and religious unrest in the home country of the Linter family, acquired a farm in Habitzheim (Odenwald) around 1650. In Kurmainz some members of the Catholic von Linden family were promoted to high offices: Franz von Linden (1712-1789) was a member of the Court Chamber Council and head cellar of the Camera Administration in the Vice-Chamber Office of Aschaffenburg, Johann Heinrich Freiherr von Linden (1719-1795) was a Privy Councillor and Director of the Court Chamber of the Electorate of Mainz. Franz Damian Freiherr von Linden (1745-1817), a grandson of Johann Heinrich Freiherr von Linden, was privy councillor and later director of the state government of the prince primate in Aschaffenburg. His second eldest son Franz Joseph Ignaz was Württemberg's Privy Legation Councillor and lord of Nordstetten, Isenburg and Taberwasen. Another grandson of Johann Heinrich Freiherr von Linden, the jurist Franz Freiherr von Linden (1760-1836), held the position of Reich Chamber Court Assessor from 1796 to 1806. After the dissolution of the Imperial Chamber Court, Franz Freiherr von Linden entered the service of the Kingdom of Württemberg. King Friedrich I of Württemberg appointed him president of the newly founded Catholic Church Council in 1807. In 1815 Franz Freiherr von Linden was appointed Württemberg Plenipotentiary at the Congress of Vienna, then Württemberg Ambassador to the Bundestag in Frankfurt. 1817-1831 he was president of the Schwarzwaldkreis (Black Forest District) and Franz Freiherr von Linden was the progenitor of the VII lines (the lines are counted according to the number of lines): Genealogical handbook of the nobility vol. 68 of the complete series. Freiherrliche Häuser Vol. VII, Limburg/Lahn 1978, p. 196-215; Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels Vol. 109 der Gesamtreihe, Freiherrliche Häuser Vol. XVIII, Limburg/Lahn 1995, p. 356-376; Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels: Der in Bayern immatrikulierte Adel Vol. XXIII, Neustadt/Aisch 2000, p. 351-365.) of the House of Linden: From his seven sons mentioned in the following these VII lines of the house come: From Edmund (1798-1865) the I. (count's) line (Burgberg), from Franz a Paula (1800-1888) the II. (count's) line (Burgberg). (Count's) line, from Carl (1801-1870) the III. line (Hausen) with the 1st branch (in the USA) and the 2nd branch (Hausen), from Joseph (1804-1895) the IV. line (Hausen) with the 1st branch (in the USA) and the 2nd branch (Hausen), from Joseph (1804-1895) the IV. line (Hausen) with the 1st branch (in the USA) and the 2nd branch (Hausen). line (Neunthausen), by Ernst (1806-1885) the V. line (Bühl), by Ludwig (1808-1889) the VI. line (Bühl). In 1844 Edmund Freiherr von Linden (1798-1865) and his cousin Heinrich Freiherr von Linden (1784-1866), the eldest son of the aforementioned Damian Franz Freiherr von Linden, were raised to the rank of papal counts. In 1846, the Grand Duke of Hesse-Darmstadt recognized Heinrich's raising of rank, and in the same year Edmund Graf von Linden received Württemberg's recognition of the raising of rank. In the year 1850 the papal earldom was also founded on Franz a Paula and II. Line extended. The elevation to the Württemberg rank of counts took place in 1852, with the exception of the III. line (Hausen), all of the VII lines in the Württemberg male tribe were extinguished. The III. line divides into a 1. branch, whose members live in the USA, and into the 2. branch (Hausen). TWO. Biographical outlines of Hugo and Joseph Freiherr von Linden: Hugo Freiherr von Linden (1854-1936):The 2nd branch (Hausen) of the III. line is also the origin of the ministerial director Hugo Freiherr von Linden. He was born on 1 February 1854 in Ludwigsburg as the son of Carl Freiherr von Linden (1801-1870) and his second wife Mathilde Freifrau von Linden née Countess Leutrum von Ertingen (1815-1892). Hugo Freiherr von Linden studied law at the universities of Tübingen, Strasbourg and Berlin after graduating from high school in 1872. In 1877 he passed the state examination. After working at various courts in Württemberg, he became Secret Legation Secretary in the Württemberg Ministry for Foreign Affairs in 1883. In the same year he was appointed the King's chambermaid, which involved honorary services at social events of the court. In 1906 Hugo Freiherr von Linden was promoted to Ministerial Director and Head of the Political Department of the Ministry in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and in 1900 Hugo Freiherr von Linden worked out the marriage contract between Duke Robert von Württemberg and Archduchess Maria Immaculata Raineria from Austria (cf. Hugo Freiherr von Linden married Elisabeth Schenk Freiin von Stauffenberg (1864-1939) in 1893, the daughter of the Vice President of the German Reichstag, Franz August Schenk von Stauffenberg. He is the progenitor of the 2nd branch (Hausen) of the III. line (Hausen).Joseph Freiherr von Linden (1804-1895):Joseph Freiherr von Linden comes from the IV. line (Hausen). Line (Nine houses). He was born on 7 June 1804 in Wetzlar as the son of the already mentioned Reichskammergerichtsassessor Franz Freiherr von Linden (1760-1836) and his second wife Maria Anna von Linden née Freiin von Bentzel zu Sternau (1769-1805). Joseph Freiherr von Linden spent his childhood and youth in Württemberg, u. a. in Kirchheim, where he became lifelong friends with the son of Ludwig Herzog von Württemberg (1756-1817) and Henriette Herzogin von Württemberg née Prinzessin von Nassau-Weilburg (1780-1857), Alexander Herzog von Württemberg (1804-1885). After studying law in Tübingen, Joseph Freiherr von Linden and his older brother Carl stayed in France from 1825 to 1827 in order to improve his knowledge of the French language and literature (cf. order numbers 3 and 4), after which he worked as a judge in various Württemberg cities. 1839-1848 Joseph Freiherr von Linden represented the knighthood of the Danube district in the Second Chamber. From 1842-1850 he was - like his father before him - President of the Catholic Church Council. 1848 was the revolutionary year in which Linden was appointed Minister of the Interior of Württemberg, but had to be dismissed on the same day due to the protests of the population. 1 July 1850 King Wilhelm I appointed Linden Minister of the Interior again and handed him over the office of Minister of the Interior of Württemberg in the years 1850 to 1851 and 1854 to 1855. During this time von Linden stood up for the restoration of the old constitution, which earned him the accusation in liberal circles that he was reactionary. Linden's achievements in the economic field should not be underestimated: He promoted the founding of the Stuttgart stock exchange, created a new trade code and encouraged the founding of the Weinsberg wine growing school. In the field of church politics, von Linden contributed significantly to the balance between the Kingdom of Württemberg and the Catholic Church. After the death of King Wilhelm I, his son and successor King Karl dismissed von Linden as minister on 20 September 1864. In the following years, Joseph Freiherr von Linden worked as a diplomat for Württemberg. In 1865 he became Württemberg envoy in Frankfurt and at the Hessian courts, 1868 envoy at the customs parliament in Berlin, and in 1870 during the Franco-Prussian War he was appointed prefect of the Marne département occupied by the Germans (cf. order numbers 32 and 34, order numbers 15 and 16). 1830 Joseph Freiherr von Linden married Emma Freiin von Koenig-Warthausen (1810-1893). The marriage produced four children: Richard (1831-1887), who was cavalry captain of the Württemberg military (see order numbers 34 and 41, order numbers 15 and 49), Franziska (1833-1919), who married Dr. Fridolin Schinzinger (1827-1865) in 1859 (order numbers 25, 35 and 36, order numbers 11, 13 and 14), Elise (1836-1914) and Josephine (1838-1881), both of whom remained single.Of the other outstanding members of the von Linden family, for whom there is only little material in this collection (order number 42, order number 8), Karl Graf von Linden (1838-1910), the founder of the Völkerkundemuseum (Lindenmuseum) in Stuttgart, named after him, and Marie Gräfin von Linden (1869-1936), who was the first woman to study at the University of Tübingen and who was later appointed Professor of Parasitology at the University of Bonn, should be mentioned briefly. III. history, content and structure of the collection: The present holdings combine documents from the estate of Joseph Freiherr von Linden, which were handed over to the Hauptstaatsarchiv in 1962 by Mr. Regierungsoberinspektor Reginald Mutter (cf. the title in the old repertory for holdings Q 1/7), a great-great grandson of Joseph Freiherr von Linden. One year later, the Main State Archives purchased these archival records, which were initially incorporated into the former holdings J 50 (Smaller Estates). Robert Uhland produced a typewritten finding aid in 1963. When the Q holdings were created in 1972, the holdings designated as the estate of Linden were removed from the J 50 holdings and assigned to the newly created Q 1 series (political estates), where they received the signature Q 1/7. The small estate consisted only of a tuft, which contained several documents, which were listed in the above-mentioned find book. In the 90's the stock Q 1/7 got increases by taxes from private side: In 1990, Mrs. E. Niethammer, Kirchheim/Teck, handed over documents from the estate of the Protestant pastor family Dierlamm to the Main State Archives as a gift, which were initially incorporated into the holdings Q 1/7 as Büschel 2. These are the documents now listed under heading 2 of this inventory (order numbers 37 to 41). These include business cards and letters from Joseph Freiherr and Emma Freifrau von Linden to Pfarrer Dierlamm (serial number 37, order number 45), tickets from Sara Schinzinger to Pfarrer Dierlamm (serial number 40, order number 47) and several sermons on corpses for members of the House of Linden (serial number 41, order number 49). Among them are documents from the estate of his grandfather Hugo Freiherr von Linden (serial numbers 7-23) and pictures, especially of members of the House of Württemberg (section 3.2, serial numbers 43-48). In addition, Franz-Karl Freiherr von Linden has handed over to the Main State Archives an extensive collection of material compiled by him on the family history of Linden, including photocopies of literature and copies or photocopies of archival records of the von Linden family. Finally, Franz-Karl Freiherr von Linden transferred newspaper articles written by him about the formation of the island Surtsey off the coast of Iceland to the Main State Archives in 1993, which were initially classified as tufts 5 in the Q 1/7 inventory. The diaries 1870-1935 of his grandfather Hugo Freiherr von Linden, which were handed over by Franz-Karl Freiherr von Linden in 1992 as a deposit under retention of title to the Main State Archives, were returned to the owner in 1995. (Cf. Tgb.-Nr. 4143/1993 and Tgb.-Nr. 2918/1995) In the course of the indexing the stock received further growth from the stock J 53 (family papers of Württemberg civil servants). The excerpts from family registers concerning Julius Graf von Linden and Loring Graf von Linden (serial numbers 5 and 6, order numbers 50 and 19) and documents on the sale of the manor Nordstetten to the forester of Fischer-Weikersthal (serial number 1, order number 17) kept under the signature J 53/10 were also classified in the present inventory. As already mentioned several times above, today's holdings Q 1/7 include not only the estate of the Württemberg Minister of State Joseph Freiherr von Linden but also several other estates of members of the House of Linden and collections or documents on the family history of Linden. For this reason, the previous inventory name "Nachlass Joseph Freiherr von Linden" was extended to "Familienunterlagen von Linden". In view of the small size of the holdings and the incompleteness of the holdings, it is not possible to speak of a family archive, however, since materials on various members and lines of the von Linden family are completely or almost completely lacking: no original archival records on the members of the von Linden family who were in the service of the Electorate of Mainz, the Prince Primate and the Grand Duke of Hesse are to be expected (v. a. Johann Heinrich von Linden, Damian Franz Freiherr von Linden, Heinrich Graf von Linden). there are also only a few archival records of the lines dating back to the sons of Franz Freiherr von Linden: From the I. (Counts) and II. (count's) lines, there are no original documents, with the exception of extracts from the family registers of Julius and Loring Graf von Linden (order numbers 5 and 6, order numbers 19 and 50). Also missing are documents of the V. line (Bühl), the VI. (Swiss) line and the VII. line. Smaller estates are only available from the III. line (Hausen) and the IV. line (Hausen). line (Neunthausen), but the documents from the estates of Ministerial Director Hugo Freiherr von Linden and Minister of State Joseph Linden are only fractions of the original estates. It can be assumed that the family still owns some of the material mentioned above and of other members of the von Linden family, but unfortunately parts of the archival records of the von Linden family were also destroyed in the fire at the Burgberg and Hausen palaces during the Second World War.In addition to the personal documents on individual members of the family, the present collection also lacks documents on economic and property management, documents and invoices, which are to be expected in a nobility archive. The structure of the collection is based on the division of the widely ramified von Linden noble family into the various lines, as it is listed in the Genealogical Handbook of the Nobility. Within the individual lines, the bequests and holdings of the family members were arranged according to date of birth, so that the older family members were listed before the younger ones. The bequests of Franz Joseph Ignaz Freiherr von Linden (section 1.1) and Franz Freiherr von Linden (section 1.2) are at the beginning of the holdings. The latter estate includes a legal opinion on the effect of the Reich's decision of 27 April 1803 on the judicial proceedings of the chamber of justice, two letters from Franz von Linden to Minister of Justice Maucler on the progress made in the training of the sons Carl and Joseph von Linden, and the correspondence between Carl and Joseph von Linden during their stay in France with their parents, some of which was written in French.The estate of the Ministerial Director Hugo Freiherr von Linden comprises several printed programmes and invitations to cultural and official events, mainly in Stuttgart (section 1.5.1), and letters from members of the Princely House Wied to Hugo Freiherr von Linden as well as a memorandum from Wilhelm I. Prince of Albania Prince to Wied (section 1.5.2). Section 1.6 forms the estate of the Württemberg Minister of State Joseph Freiherr von Linden. It is the second largest estate in the stock Q 1/7. The estate is divided into the categories: Family and personal affairs (1.6.1) with documents on weddings, wedding jubilees and a travel description, correspondence (1.6.2) with letters from members of the House of Württemberg (above all Alexander Duke of Württemberg) to Joseph Freiherr von Linden and isolated letters from family members, activity as prefect of the Marne Department (1.6.).3) and printed matter about Joseph Freiherr von Linden (1.6.4): the wife of Joseph Freiherr von Linden, Emma Freifrau von Linden, and the daughter of the Minister of State, Franziska Freiin von Linden, only have very small estates (headings 1.7 and 1.8); the materials from the estate of the Protestant parish family Dierlamm were left as an independent complex (heading 2). The content of the section has already been discussed above, and under section 3 you will find collections, mainly on the family history of Linden: The first section is section 3.1 with the already mentioned extensive collection of material on the family history of Linden, which Franz-Karl Freiherr von Linden compiled and handed over to the house as photocopies. Section 3.2 contains photos of members of the House of Württemberg, of Joseph Freiherr von Linden and of other personalities in Württemberg history; sections 3.3 and 3.4 contain newspaper articles by Franz-Karl Freiherr von Linden and a lock of hair by Joseph Freiherr von Linden.Further archives on Joseph Freiherr von Linden are kept by the Hauptstaatsarchiv in fonds J 1 (collection of historical manuscripts) no. 256 b: Joseph Freiherr von Linden: "Aus meiner politische Karrierebahn" 1830-1862, part 2 of the memoirs dictated by Linden to his granddaughter Sara Schinzinger around 1890. The copy kept in J 1 is a copy for which Professor Schinzinger from Hohenheim, a grandson of the Minister of State von Linden, lent the original to the archive in 1925. Günther-Otto Maus in Baesweiler, a direct descendant of Joseph Freiherr von Linden, was filmed in 1977 and is now kept in the Main State Archives under the signature F 554 in fonds J 383 (microfilms and manuscripts in foreign archives, libraries). In January 2015, Günther-Otto Maus purchased the original diary from Günther-Otto Maus and it is now part of the collection under the signature Q 1/7 Bü 51. An index of the archive of the Barons of Linden in Neunthausen, which was compiled in 1892/1893, is part of the collection J 424 (Inventories of Non-State Archives: Caretakers' Photographs).In addition, reference is briefly made to the E stocks (ministerial stocks), in which extensive material on the work of State Minister Joseph Freiherr von Linden and Ministerial Director Hugo Freiherr von Linden is kept, and Q 1/7 can be used for various research purposes: First of all, of course, the history of the von Linden family, the history of nobility, mentality, social and cultural history, and finally the history of the German occupation of France during the war of 1870/1871. The Q 1/7 holdings were catalogued in 2001 by the archive inspectors Alexander Morlok, Matthias Schönthaler and Jens Ulrich under the supervision of the undersigned. The final editing, input and classification of the title recordings, the introduction as well as the compilation of the overall index were the responsibility of the undersigned. 0.5 linear metres of the stock was held. Literature about the von Linden family and individual family members:: Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels: Adelslexikon Vol. VII. 1989. p. 394f.Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels: Vol. 68. Freiherrliche Häuser Vol. VII (1978) p. 196-215 and Vol. XVIII (1995) p. 356-376.Genealogisches Handbuch des Adels: Der in Bayern immatrikulierten Vol. XXIII. 2000. 351-365.Junginger, Gabriele: Countess Maria von Linden. Memories of the first Tübingen student. 1991.Koenig-Warthausen, Wilhelm Freiherr von: Josef Freiherr von Linden. Württemberg Minister of the Interior 1804-1895 In: Lebensbilder aus Schwaben und Franken IX S. 218-276.Linden, Franz-Karl Freiherr von: Grandfather's diaries. [Article about Hugo Freiherr von Linden (1854-1936)]. In: Schönes Schwaben 1993 Issue 1 S. 78-83 Menges, Franz: Joseph Freiherr von Linden. In: Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) Vol. 14 S. 589-590Moegle-Hofacker, Franz:; On the Development of Parliamentarism in Württemberg. The "Parliamentarism of the Crown" under King Wilhelm I. 1981.Schneider, Eugen: Joseph Freiherr von Linden. In: Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) Vol. 51 S. 719-721 Stöckhardt, E.: Joseph Freiherr von Linden. Royal Württemberg Minister of State (retired) Member of the Württemberg Chamber of Lords of State for Life. In: Deutsche Adels-Chronik Heft 15 S. 187-190 und Heft 16 S. 215, 216 und 226, 227th Württembergischer Verein für Handelsgeographie, Museum für Länder- und Völkerkunde, Lindenmuseum Stuttgart (publisher): Celebration of the 50th anniversary of the association. Celebration of the 100th birthday of Count Karl von Linden. 1939.
1st About the Aldinger-Ostermayer family: Karl Aldinger and Hertha Ostermayer married on 24 January 1944. The marriage lasted over six decades. Only the death of Karl Aldinger in 2005 brought her to an end. The ancestors of the married couple were widely ramified and can be traced far back through the stored documents of the inventory. Due to the numerous traditional sources and many patient family history researches, they were deeply anchored in the consciousness of Karl and Hertha Aldingers. During the Second World War Karl Aldinger (1917-2005) was a soldier (last lieutenant). He then managed various agricultural estates (Staufeneck estate, Schafhof estate, Alteburg estate). In 1957 he took over the management of the youth hostel in Esslingen, which he continued to run until 1963. He then ran a guesthouse in Saig (Black Forest) until 1990, which came from the inheritance of an aunt of his wife. Hertha Aldinger (1920-2012) had undergone agricultural training and had been a teacher of agricultural household science since January 1944. After 1 July 1944, she no longer worked for the company, but devoted herself to her five children (one had died very early) and supported her husband in his various tasks. The family archive Aldinger-Ostermayer documents the ancestors of Karl and Hertha Aldinger in almost all lines back to the end of the 18th century. There are rich documents on the families Aldinger, Trißler, Unrath (ancestors of Karl Aldinger) and Ostermayer, Görger, Baur/Giani, Heldbek/Gaiser, Riedlin and Schinzinger (ancestors of Hertha Aldinger). The documents refer to members of the upper middle class in Württemberg and Baden. Some family members were soldiers in the First and Second World Wars (among others Eduard Ostermayer (1867-1954), Helmut Ostermayer (1919-1941) and Karl Aldinger) and have left photos, diaries and memories as well as letters from the wartime. The Aldinger family provided agricultural estate managers for several generations. There are numerous physicians from the family circle: Dr. Oskar Görger (1847-1905), who founded his wealth through his practice in Australia, Dr. Eduard Ostermayer (1867-1954), who was still practicing in his 80s and was thus known in the 50s as Stuttgart's oldest practicing physician, Dr. Karl Schinzinger (1861-1948), also a physician in Australia, and Dr. Albert Schinzinger (1827-1911), who began his career as a surgeon and after his habilitation worked as a professor of medicine at the University of Freiburg (about him Pagel: Biographisches Lexikon outstanding doctors of the nineteenth century. Berlin, Vienna 1901, Sp. 1499-1500). Also worth mentioning are the pastors: Karl Ludwig Heldbek (1756-1829), pastor in Scharenstetten, Christoph Erhardt Heldbek (1803-1877), city pastor in Weilheim, Emil Heldbek (1849-1884), pastor in Auendorf, and Dr. Paul Aldinger (1869-1944), pastor in Kleinbottwar, colonist and pastor in Brazil. The Ostermayers were merchants for several generations, initially locally in Weilheim/Teck and from around 1870 in the Württemberg state capital Stuttgart. Max (1860-1942) and Gottlieb Ostermayer (1871-1910) finally worked as merchants in India. The Heldbek/Gaiser family also knew merchants whose activities later extended as far as Africa (Lagos). The most famous is Gottlieb Leonhard Gaiser (1817-1892). He tried to found a German colony in Mahinland (east of Lagos), but failed because of Bismarck's colonial-political restraint (Ernst Hieke: Gaiser, Gottlieb Leonhard, in: Neue Deutsche Biographie, 6 (1964), p. 39f.). Robert Karl Edmund Schinzinger (1898-1988), university professor and lecturer in Japan, and Ernst Ostermayer (1868-1918), professor and painter are to be emphasized as representatives of science and art. Albert Joseph Fridolin Schinzinger (1856-1926), the Japanese Consul General in Berlin, worked in the field of politics and diplomacy. 2. processing of the stock: The family archive Aldinger-Ostermayer was created step by step. In ancient times, outstanding documents were preserved and entrusted to the next generation. Initially, only a few documents were handed down, mostly letters or documents with a special memoir value. This happened with both the Aldinger and Ostermayer ancestors. Only later generations left behind complete estates, i.e. closed traditions. This was the case with Eduard Ostermayer and his son Helmut as well as Karl and Hertha Aldinger. For Oskar Görger and his wife Marie, original documents have been preserved to a considerable extent, but in smaller quantities. Family research on a larger scale had already been carried out in the 1930s in connection with the Aryan evidence by the Aldingers and the Ostermayers. Lore Braitsch, née Aldinger, collected older documents for the Aldinger family, which she also evaluated (e.g. speech in honour of Dr. Paul Aldinger, cf. Bü 360). After their death in 1998 these documents came to Hertha and Karl Aldinger, so that a family archive for the Aldinger and Ostermayer families grew together. Hertha Aldinger edited this. She supplemented the originals with copies and transcriptions. With admirable patience she transcribed the documents in old, no longer generally legible script, first by hand and later by typewriter. Already in 1996 she worked with computers. Even more important are their evaluations of the family records. She put together different material to certain persons as well as whole family branches, so for her husband Karl (Bü 179) and for herself (Bü 118). She also wrote the couple's memoirs under the title "Our 20 Initial Years" (Bü 246). She also wrote down her personal memories of her parents (Bü 181). For the Ostermayer (Bü 284, 304 and 334), Heldbek (Bü 453, 473) and Schinzinger (Bü 226, 237, 296) families she compiled material and wrote elaborations on the history of these families. Probably also the order of the family archive goes back to them. This only considered a separation of the individual family branches and was otherwise little structured. When the materials were handed over to the Main State Archives in January 2013, they were stored in guide files and the subunits were formed in transparent envelopes. There were also other types of packaging. A handwritten fixation of this order was made on the occasion of the transfer of the family archive to the main state archive in a transfer register (Bü 550). Hertha Aldinger's intensive family research and work have left traces in the state of order. The units were inflated by copies, often multiple copies. Original tradition and copy or transcription were not separated. The original letter series were torn, there was the group of already transcribed pieces and the group of still unprocessed letters. The archival order of the documents restored the series of the original letters. The copies have been reduced. There is little point in keeping an original and a copy of it in the same tuft. Multiple copies of the transcriptions could also be collected. However, different processing stages (e.g. concepts, final version) were left unchanged. There was a larger collection of postcards, which had been arranged after picture motives. This collection also contained described and run postcards, i.e. family correspondence. This had to be reassigned to the letters and cards. The collection of postcards was thus reduced to the undescribed pieces (Bü 506, 509), and the archival indexing attached great importance to a detailed characterization of the Büschel contents in the Contained Notes. This was especially necessary when the title recording for the tuft had to remain very general. The collection was structured in such a way that the central importance of Karl and Hertha Aldinger for the documents is emphasized. Karl and Hertha Aldinger are expressly referred to as related family branches. The spelling of the first names was standardized according to today's spelling: Helmut instead of Hellmut, Karl instead of Carl, Jakob instead of Jacob etc.. The index lists the women among the aforementioned families from the related circle of Aldinger-Ostermayer, but also mentions the marriage name. Women who have married into the circle of relatives are classified under their names of marriage, their names of birth are given in an explanatory manner. The stock P 45 "Familienarchiv Aldinger-Ostermayer" was sorted and listed by the undersigned in Spring/Summer 2013. The duration of the documents ranges from approx. 1770 to 2013, the volume of the stock amounts to 553 units in 6.1 m.Stuttgart, in October 2013Dr. Peter Schiffer
Inventory description: Dept. 185 Family and company archive Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl Scope: 760 archive cartons, oversized formats (= 3169/3561 units of description (with a,b,c subdivisions approx. 3200) = 77 linear metres - of which 3.5 linear metres photo albums) Duration: 1877 - 1988 The holdings Dept. 185 Family and Company Archive Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl was handed over to the Worms City Archive as a deposit at the end of 1997 by Ludwig Cornelius Freiherr von Heyl (jun., 1920-2010). The documents stored in two cellar rooms of the Heylshof included or include both the private and parts of the former company archives of Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl until its closure in 1974. At the time of the takeover there was a list of "files Baron Ludwig jun. now in the Heylshofkeller", which had presumably been drawn up in the course of the relocation from Liebenau to the Heylshof. The written material was subdivided into VII main groups, the contents were roughly titled and the respective number of folders as well as their running time were recorded. For parts of the material, two storage-related provenance data were discernible. On the one hand the information "Files Baron Ludwig, vom Speicher Werk Liebenau" (old signature no. 784 - 889, no. 891 - 1163), on the other hand "Secretariat Baron Ludwig" (old signature no. 622 - 783) was found. Before being transported to the external magazine of the city archive (upper archive cellar in the administration building Adenauerring), the archive numbered the pieces and compiled an inventory list in which the folder spine titles were transferred, while maintaining the existing order. However, the material was not only filed in file folders, but was also partly tied up in metal cassettes, folders, a suitcase and in bundles. 45 large-format photo albums by Ludwig Freiherr von Heyl sen. (approx. 3.5 running metres) were also included. A total of approx. 1350 units were registered. For over ten years, this inventory list served as a provisional finding aid until the end of 2007, when the signatory began to record the archival data in the AUGIAS EDP archive program, which was completed in September 2009. In spring 2009, surprisingly more documents were discovered in a cupboard in the Heylshof, which were handed over to the city archives and could still be taken into account in the indexing. These were mainly documents relating to the Heylshof Foundation and files in connection with the liquidation of the Liebenau plant. First, a large part of the material was transferred to the city archives. In the run-up to the respective title recording in AUGIAS, a series of "handicrafts" had to be carried out. Various conservation measures were carried out in accordance with the requirements for the conservation of stocks. The documents were transferred from the file folders into acid-free archive folders, while the paper clips were also removed. Some files were dirty and cleaned, some had traces of mould. From many file folders two partly three new units were formed, which are reconstructable however by appropriate addition with the old archive signature as total units again. Some personal papers that could be rescued from the burnt-out Majorshof (Majorshof fire as a result of the war on 21.2.1945) in metal cassettes showed or show fire damage (brittle paper, poorly legible writing, etc.). In those cases in which it was justifiable from the conservation point of view, copies were made and the damaged documents left in envelopes in the fascicles for protection. Most recently, the units of description were packaged in acid-free archive cartons - a total of 757 cartons. The indexing was carried out according to Bär's principle (i.e. sequential numbering), the signatures of the provisional inventory list were recorded and enable the new signature to be found by means of concordance. If the file folders contained registry data, these were taken into account in the title recording so that statements about the completeness or the losses can also be made on the basis of old file directories to the private archive or the company registry. Various directories are available, e.g. in the holdings of Dept. 180/1 Firmenarchiv Heyl-Liebenau, in which the same registration mark system was used as for most documents from the provenance of Baron Ludwig sen. Field letters (1914-1918) were an extensive series, most of which had been stored bundled in wrapping paper. It was decided to remove the letters from the envelopes in the order in which they were found and to insert both parts, perforated, into the tube staplers. The positive aspects of this procedure were decisive in comparison to the damage caused by perforation, which was obviously originally intended anyway, as some field post letters already available in magazines show. The letters are easy to use when unfolded, they remain in the order in which they were found and the envelopes, most of which were destroyed in other correspondence after being placed in files, enable the sender to be identified. Most of the plans available, in particular for the Majorshof (also for the stable building converted into a residential building after the war), including plans of the Plum Building Council, were digitized, copies added to the inventory for better use, as well as two CD-ROMs with the photographs, which are also available in the photo archive. The large series with photo negatives (almost 7700 pieces) were left in the found labeled envelopes. They require subsequent cleaning and optimal conservation storage. This work should possibly be combined with a simultaneous digitalisation. The time-consuming creation of an index was dispensed with, as the keyword search in AUGIAS leads to the respective finding places. A good ten percent of the holdings were marked with a blocking notice in accordance with the requirements of the Rhineland-Palatinate State Archives Act. About 60 files were collected. These were essentially bulk documents such as newsletters from various associations and federations, advertising brochures, information leaflets (e.g. the so-called Fuchsbriefe), bank statements, etc. Classification: The classification for the collection Dept. 185 was only developed after the indexing, despite the provisional inventory list. This approach proved to be useful in retrospect, as it would certainly have given rise in advance to an excessively complex breakdown of content, which would probably have caused problems due to overlaps and thus not clearly realisable classifications. After completion of the distortion work, a three-division of the classification was fixed. The material assigned to main group 1 and accounting for approximately half of the inventory in terms of quantity comprises the estate of Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl sen. from about 1905/14 until his death in 1962. Here you will find personal-private items (name, family, diaries, private certificates and documents, anniversaries etc.), further correspondence (general correspondence, family, field post letters, artists' correspondence), also documents from the private, family and other sphere of activity of his wife Eva Marie von Heyl née von der Marwitz. In addition, material is available on his social commitment (in particular the Kunsthaus Heylshof Foundation), his political activities (town and country, political parties, political committees), his membership/activity in associations (e.g. Johanniterorden, Burschenschaft Saxo-Borussia Heidelberg, Heidelberger Kreis; NS economic group Leather Industry), numerous Wormser and supra-regional associations, his active military years and connections to military and veteran associations after 1918. In addition, photo albums and photo and negative series belong to the documents of Baron Ludwig sen. The second classification group comprises documents and correspondence since 1945 from Ludwig's son Ludwig Frhr. von Heyl jun., born in 1920, of the same name, with essentially correspondence (private and business), personal (private papers, war memoirs, documents concerning various stages of life, diary, family; duration 1920 - 1982) and various activities / activities in professional and trade associations, politics, Rotary club and associations. The third and last main classification group was set up for the files on the Lederwerke, primarily Heyl-Liebenau. Here you can find business documents from the time since 1923 when Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl sen. took over responsibility for the Lederwerke Heyl-Liebenau in Worms-Neuhausen, through the takeover and management by his son Ludwig jun. to the dissolution of this company, the last to produce leather in Worms, in 1974. Content: The documents in the inventory begin with Ludwig von Heyls years of study in Heidelberg (around 1905) and the simultaneous entry into his father's factory, the Lederwerke Cornelius Heyl. Private and general correspondence series as well as extensive field post (1914-1918) document his extremely broad activities in associations and federations of the Protestant national liberal bourgeoisie. Correspondence with associations, mainly regional (Aufbauverein bzw. Wiederaufbauwerk Worms e.V., Verkehrsverein Worms, Kasino- und Musikgesellschaft, Ruderclub Worms e.V., etc.) but also supra-regional associations include some file fascicles, others contain correspondence and documents on the Order of St John. The wealth of material on Ludwig von Heyl's decades of membership and activity in the exclusive student association Saxo-Borussia Heidelberg and the student association Heidelberger Kreis deserves special mention. During Ludwig von Heyl's active military service, there are records of his later active association with military veterans' associations and comradeships. Also correspondence with artists (e.g. sculptor David Fahrner, Prof. Schmoll von Eisenwerth, Daniel Greiner, Erich Arnold), some of which he sponsored as patrons, can be found in this collection. Ludwig C. von Heyls political activity (for the DVP) in the Wormser city parliament from 1918 to 1930, as hess. His involvement in local politics after 1945, as well as his work in the Evangelical Regional Church, is reflected in his work as a member of the Landtag (1924-1927). The splendid photo albums (from 1903 - 1937), which not only document the family environment and private activities, but also illustrate political and social events with supplementary source material (documents, newspaper clippings, leaflets, programmes, etc.), have a special source value. A continuation of the series was obviously planned, but was not implemented. However, material collections on "projected photo albums" are available until 1950. These were collected in envelopes and were stored in a suitcase when they were taken over. Further photographic material, negative series (negatives, glass plates, prints), including photographs from children's schools in Worms and the Sophienstift old people's home from the 1920s as well as photographs relating to Heyl-Liebenau offer a dense pictorial tradition up to the 1950s, and there are also some photo albums of other family members. Ludwig von Heyl sen. created a large proportion of photographic material and postcard series as material collections for lectures on travel. In the written record, which comes from the provenance of Ludwig C. Freiherr von Heyl jun., are, apart from correspondence (private and business), a large part of his work and membership in professional associations (hptsl. Verband der Deutschen Lederindustrie, in the association and in the VGTC - Verein für Gerberchemie und Technik). The available stock includes materials of various sizes from the Heyl-Liebenau leather works (from 1923), Emil Waeldin AG (from 1936), subsidiaries and foreign companies. Business correspondence, travel reports, daily, weekly and monthly reports, annual financial statements and memos are the focus of the documents. The final liquidation is also documented. The Kunsthaus Heylshof Foundation also has a diverse collection of records from its foundation until 1972, which almost completely corresponds to the registry list of the Kunsthaus Heylshof Foundation Files in Dept. 185 No. 2536. It includes, for example, inventories, documents relating to the Swarzenski Catalogue, correspondence, minutes of meetings of the Foundation's Board of Directors, documents relating to various works of art. The whereabouts of the Heylshof plans also listed in the aforementioned file by Attorney Engisch could not yet be determined. The extensive series of correspondence of father and son Ludwig C. von Heyl in this collection contain diverse material not only on the close members of one's own family, but also on the families married to them or linked by assumption of sponsorships. Here the old noble family of the Marwitz (Friedersdorf) is to be mentioned in particular. Ludwig C. Baron von Heyl sen. married Eva Marie von der Marwitz in 1917, with whose twin brothers Gebhard and Bernhard (Geppy and Banni, both killed in World War I) he was already in friendship during his studies in the Corps Saxo-Borussia. Extensive correspondence was also maintained with Adelheid and Bodo von der Marwitz (the other two siblings). Practical hints: When searching by search run, please note that different spellings should be taken into account for the keywords, especially for names, associations, etc. In the course of the manual sorting of the units of description, the alphabetical order on the one hand and the chronological order on the other hand were taken into account, especially for correspondence series. In the case of series of files of business documents, where the files had to be split, the original state of order of the files was normally maintained. This can lead to the fact that, since the files were filed chronologically from the back to the front over certain periods of time, a "chronological turner" can occur in the printed index if the chronological order is behind the filing order. The classification group 2.6.1. professional and trade associations, chambers proved to be so extensive and multi-layered by the old registry order that a complete reorganization was refrained from. For this reason, we recommend either a keyword search run or a review of the entire section in the search book for key areas of interest. For the photo negative series and partly for the glass plate negatives, handwritten claddings and indexes are available in which these are recorded almost completely with numbers and short details for illustration. This generally ensures that individual negatives can be accessed in a targeted manner. Reference to supplementary archive holdings: Here, above all, Dept. 180/1 Heyl'sche Lederwerke Liebenau in the town archives of Worms is to be consulted for the documents concerning the company, as it can be seen from the old registry signatures that the material originates from a provenance. The holdings complement each other and together reflect the original company registration. For the written material referring to the private-personal area or the family, the other large collection is primarily Dept. 186 Family Archives Leonhard von Heyl / Nonnenhof. Here, too, there are interdependencies in the tradition between the two stocks. This is partly also to be documented by preserved old archive registration folders in Dept. 185, which bear the provenance indication Freiherrlich von Heyl zu Herrnsheim'sche Privat-Verwaltung (e.g. Dept. 185 No. 246, No. 298). For the family, the collection holdings of Dept. 170/26 must also be taken into account. For the political activity in the city parliament and in the local politics of father and son Ludwig von Heyl in general, the holdings of Dept. 5 City Administration before 1945 and Dept. 6 City Administration Worms after 1945 were to be used. Worms, September 2009 Margit Rinker-Olbrisch, City Archive Worms Literature: The town archive of Worms contains a comprehensive bibliography on the history and significance of the von Heyl family and Heyl'sche Lederwerke. In the following only a selection of publications will be listed. - BAUER, Oswald G., Josef Hoffmann. The stage designer of the first Bayreuth Festival, Munich 2008 [close connections to the Worms family (von) Heyl]. - BÖNNEN, Gerold, Elections and Votes in Worms during the Weimar Republic: Materials and Analyses, in: Der Wormsgau 23, 2004, pp. 124-165 - HARTMANN, Christoph, Die Heyl'schen Lederwerke Liebenau. A Worms leather factory in the interwar phase against the background of a global market, diploma thesis at the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich for the acquisition of an academic degree of a Dipl.-Staatswissenschaftler Univ., 2007 (masch., 122 pp.). - History of the City of Worms, edited by Gerold BÖNNEN, Stuttgart 2005 on behalf of the City of Worms (in particular Fritz REUTER, Der Sprung in die Moderne: Das "Neues Worms" (1874-1914), pp. 479-544; Gerold BÖNNEN, Von der Blüte in den Abgrund: Worms vom Ersten bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg (1914-1945), pp. 545-606; Hedwig BRÜCHERT, Social and Working Conditions in the Industrial City of Worms until World War I, pp. 793-823 - REUTER, Fritz, Four Important Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries: Heyl, Valckenberg, Doerr und Reinhart, in: Genealogie: Deutsche Zeitschrift für Familienkunde Vol. 21, 42. vol., 1993, p. 644-661 - Stiftung Kunsthaus Heylshof. Critical catalogue of the collection of paintings, edited by Wolfgang Schenkluhn, Worms 1922 (including: Klaus HANSEMANN, Der Heylshof: Unternehmerschloß und Privatmuseum, pp. 19-50; Judith BÜRGEL, "Da wir beide Liebhaberei an Antiquitäten besitzt". Zur Paäldeesammlung von Cornelius Wilhelm und Sophie von Heyl, pp. 51-71) - SWARZENSKI, Georg, Guide through the art collections at the Heylshof in Worms, o.O. 1925 - 1783-2008. Vereinigte Kasino- und Musikgesellschaft Worms. Festschrift zum 225-Jahrfeier, edited by Ulrich OELSCHLÄGER and Gerold BÖNNEN, Worms 2008 (Der Wormsgau, supplement 40)
Documents about the person, letters, materials about the work, miscellaneous, scientific and artistic preliminary work, lecture manuscripts, memoirs, diaries. The estate also includes the archive of the Paul Häberlin Society.
Letters of the ship's doctor Dr. Alfred Abenhausen from aboard the passenger ships of North German Lloyd and the Woermann Line to German colonies, among others; all seven continents ** Scope: seven travel diaries, about 180 letters and postcards, about 30 photos Processing: completely transcribed; not digitized Planning: feeding into the Caliope network (2018)
Inventory description: Dept. 170/2 estate Georg and Barbara Freed Scope: 819 units of description (= 23 linear metres of archive cartons and 9 linear metres of rolled plans) = add. 32 m Running time: 1792 - 1941 Family and foundation In the course of establishing a foundation to the City of Worms, which was decreed in the will, the Worms architect Georg Ludwig Freed (1858-1936) and his sister Barbara (Babette 1855-1941) bequeathed documents to the then museum and the municipal cultural institutes, which were taken over by Dr. Illert in 1942 (cf. Der Wormsgau 2, p. 99). Members of the Freed family had been resident in Worms since the beginning of the 19th century as master painters and whitewashers. They already held important positions in bourgeois associations in the pre-March period, including the Schützengesellschaft, the gymnastics community of 1846 Worms and the fire brigade. Both siblings remained unmarried throughout their lives, their sister Anna Maria (1854) was the wife of the museum director and since 1898 city archivist August Weckerling. The material of the 'Stiftung Freed' includes personal letters, postcards and papers, diaries, documents as well as artisan, artistic and family history documents in a large variety (especially about 1850 to 1935), without any documents obviously being collected after the death of the siblings. A large part of the estate is occupied by the actual architect Freed (numerous sketches, drawings, maps, plans, newspapers, etc.), whose temporal focus lies in his Mannheim years between 1889/93 and 1914. In addition, there are association documents from the entire Protestant-national-liberal milieu, including militaria and national teams or academic associations of the TH Darmstadt. In addition to the documents of his father Georg Fr. Freed from the time since approx. 1840, the closed file tradition of the house Wollstr. 28, which has been inhabited since 1800 and bequeathed to the city of Worms in 1941/42 and later sold privately by the latter (house preserved, part of a monument zone) is also relevant. Family grandfather of G. Freed: Johann Ph. Freed 1794-1845 married with Johanna Friederika Uswald 1798-1823 (daughter of:) Carl Ernst Ußwald from Oelsnitz/Vogtland 1754, from 1796 in Worms, 1818 (= great-grandfather of G. Freed), married Anna Katharina Köhler née. Völcker (1776-1846), was a painter and master draughtsman (family book: no. 87, description Reuter 1968, p. 204 no. 3), three other family books described on p. 212. Elisabeth Margareta Freed, Stiefenkelin of C.E. U.., born 1826 sister: Katharina Anna, 1825-1912 disproportionate stepbrother: Georg Friedrich F., born 1823 Worms (= grandson of C. E. Uswald) learned the painting and whitewashing trade, journeyman years Wiesbaden 1843/44, Dresden 1844, Vienna 1845; in Worms marriage 1851 with Elisabeth Müller (1825-1899), ev, City councillor 1874-1892; 1837-1851 pedigree book (description Reuter 1968 p. 212); died 1896 = father of Georg, Babette and Anna Maria Freed (Anna M. Freed (*1854) married with August Weckerling, who was thus the brother-in-law of the two Freeds, this certainly justified the willingness to donate the collection to the museum run by Weckerling, whose successor Illert acted as executor of the will after Barbara's death in 1941), Son of the pensioner, master whitewasher and town councillor Georg Friedrich Freed (1823-1896, married to Elisabeth Freed née. Müller), 1865-1869 attends preschool, 1869-1875 secondary school in Worms; takes private lessons in higher mathematics and languages in 1875, passed entrance examination, eight semesters as a regular student of the building school enrolled at the TH Darmstadt; also occupies the subjects prescribed for civil service, final examination in autumn 1879 together with the civil service aspirants, participation in study trips and excursions, etc.a. 1878 World Exhibition Paris, 1.4.1880 One-year volunteer reg. 118 Worms, from summer 1881 to summer 1885 for further mainly artistic education in Munich in the studio of Prof. Hauberrisser, there collaboration on large building projects, 1885-1887 active in Berlin in studios of architect Kayser u. v. Großheim, Erdmann
Preliminary remark: In 1965, the estate of Berthold von Fetzer was handed over to the Main State Archives by Mrs. Friedel Schloßberger-Hoffmann, the granddaughter of Berthold von Fetzer, retired superior. The printed matter and books (including printed matter by Carl August and Berthold von Fetzer) submitted by Mrs. Schloßberger-Hoffmann at that time were classified in the service library of the Main State Archives. The collection contains 40 volumes of diaries from 1868 to 1925 (with gaps), five volumes of notebooks from 1918 to 1923 as well as three photos of Berthold von Fetzer, and the entries of Fetzer on his activities as court physician of King Karl in 1883, 1885 to 1891 (volumes 5-15). Unfortunately the corresponding volume covering the period from April 1883 to February 1885 is missing. According to the correspondence with Mrs. Schloßberger-Hoffmann, it was not handed over to the Main State Archives. The diaries, which were kept in detail in the years 1883 and 1885 to 1891, especially during the King's winter stays in southern France and Italy, contain numerous information about the person of King Charles, his illnesses, his daily routine and his attitude towards the people around him - especially towards Queen Olga, Charles Woodcock (Baron de Savage), Wilhelm Freiherr von Spitzemberg and Julius Albert Freiherr von Griesinger. Fetzer was consulted almost daily by the king, especially during his winter stays in the south, while he did not maintain such close contact with the king during the remaining months when the king was in Stuttgart, Friedrichshafen or Bebenhausen. In addition, the diaries Volumes 5-15 also give interesting insights into farm life. These diaries, which are the most important source about the last years of King Karl, were written by Professor Dr. Paul Sauer for his book "Regent with mild sceptre. For Fetzer's activity as court physician under King Wilhelm II, however, there are no comparable entries except for a diary (volume 17), which contains some information about diseases of Queen Charlotte. This is probably due to the fact that Fetzer was consulted less frequently by the last royal couple of Württemberg and at that time was primarily active as head of the medical department of the newly created Karl Olga Hospital in Stuttgart. In addition to the diaries on court life, the two volumes with entries on Fetzer's work as senior physician at the Fourth Württemberg Field Hospital in the War of 1870/71 (Volumes 1 and 2), in which he reports on his activities in the field hospitals and in the Solitude reserve hospital - including the operations he performed - also deserve attention. In addition to the above-mentioned entries by Fetzer, all of which are in some way connected with his work as a doctor, the diaries naturally also contain numerous references to his family life and provide insights into Fetzer's personality, his diverse interests and political attitudes. In addition to the sometimes very detailed descriptions of his numerous travels in Germany and other European countries, here are notes and comments on his reading in the fields of medicine and natural sciences. literature, art or art history, philosophy and history. There are also frequent reports in the diaries about visits to theatre, opera and concerts, as well as visits to art exhibitions and museums. They convey an impressive picture of a typical educated citizen of the imperial period and are therefore of importance for cultural, mental and social history. The descriptions of his travels and even more the notes and commentaries on his reading - like a red thread, so to speak - run through almost all of his diaries, whereby in the diaries of the years 1913 to 1925 (volumes 27-40) - possibly due to a lack of reportable external experiences of Fetzer - they occupy a large space. In addition to the diaries, Fetzer also kept pure notebooks with notes for his reading between 1918 and 1923 (vol. 41-45). The estate of Fetzer was recorded in the summer of 1997 by the candidate archive inspectors Nicole Schütz and Andre Kayser. The title recordings were edited by Archive Inspector Eberhard Merk in autumn 1999. The stock comprises 46 title records in 0.3 metres. Stuttgart, November 1999 Eberhard Merk
Fetzer, Berthold vonPrivate letters, 1890-1893; travelogues, diary notes, correspondence with Trittelvitz, 1905-1914; manuscripts, fragments, diaries, etc.: "The first visit of German children to Queen Msinga of Rwanda, "Back to Queen Msinga, "Observations on the Characteristics of Natives, 1907-1908; General Correspondence and Monthly Reports, 1927-1929; Bugufi calls us - Bugufi needs us, 1929; Letter of Native Christians from Bukoba to the Bishop of Central Tanzania, 1929; Impressions and thoughts during a journey into the landscapes of Mischenye u. Karagwe, 1929; Questionnaires with personal data and birth dates of 14 children, 1930; "Church Mission Society u. Bethel-Bielefeld Mission in Bukoba, German and English version by E. Johanssen, 1930; Correspondence with E. Johanssen, 1930-1933; death notice and memorial certificate, 1934; correspondence with Martha Johanssen, 1934-1940; "On the 100th birthday of E. Johanssen, 1964; "On the 100th birthday of E. Johanssen, by J. Busse, with the addition of Albrecht sen.., 1971
Evangelical Missionary Society for German East AfricaFind aids: Find book from 1962 (online searchable) Registraturbilddner: Dröschkau belongs to the city of Belgern, Lkr. Nordsachsen, Freistaat Sachsen. Dröschkau was mentioned in 1130 as Burgward im Gau Belgern and belonged in the late Middle Ages to the Stiftsamt Wurzen of the Hochstifts Meißen. The Wettin claim to sovereignty over the Hochstift, manifested as early as 1485, was recognised by Bishop Johann IX of Meissen in 1581. Nevertheless, the Stiftsamt Wurzen, as a neighbouring state of Saxony, retained its own monastery government until 1818. In 1815 Dröschkau with parts of the monastery office came to Prussia and belonged there 1816-1945 to the province Saxony. 1489 in Dröschkau a outwork of the nunnery Mühlberg is documented. In 1582 Stellan von Holtzendorf was pardoned by Elector August. In 1669 the estate was transferred to the von Heynitz family as a result of a marriage. The manor, designated in 1815 as written manor, held the patrimonial jurisdiction over the place at the latest in the 18th century and was subject to the office of Torgau. The Pietzsch Vorwerk and the Schäferei Neusorge belonged to the property complex. The von Heynitz family sat on Dröschkau until the expropriation in the course of the land reform in 1945. Inventory information: The holdings were transferred to the Saxony-Anhalt State Main Archive on 27.06.1949 via the Halle/S. State Library. A repertory was not available, a continuous archive order does not seem to have existed, so that the archival records, which were mostly unbound, had to be rearranged and listed anew. If one compares the information provided by O. Steinecke (Forschungen zur Brandenburgischen und Preußischen Geschichte, vol. 15, 1902, p. 421) on the holdings of the Heynitz family archive in Dröschkau with the archive records that have been transferred to the Saxony-Anhalt state archives, it is regrettable to note that significant losses have occurred. The 41 diaries of Friedrich Anton von Heynitz from the years 1747 to 1783 and 1792 to 1802, mentioned by Steinecke, are missing, among others. The collection was arranged and recorded in 1962 and provided with a registry and inventory history. Additional information: Literature: aristocratic archives in the Saxony-Anhalt state archives. Overview of the holdings, edited by Jörg Brückner, Andreas Erb and Christoph Volkmar (Sources on the History of Saxony-Anhalt; 20), Magdeburg 2012 - Schumann: Post-Lexikon von Sachsen, vol. 2, 1815, p. 286 Schumann-Schiffner: Post-Lexikon von Sachsen, vol. 15, 1828, p. 428-430 Kneschke: Deutsches Adels-Lexikon, vol. 4, 1863, p. 364-365, 462-O. Steinecke: Frierich Anton von Heynitz. A life picture. In: Research on Brandenburg and Prussian History, Vol. 15, 1902, pp. 421-470.
2 folders. Contains: 1. ORDER: - Bischofswiesen 1984. Dannholz to Jaeschke (2 letters) - Same, Pare 1989. Mshana: Introduction Rev. Jacob J. Dannholz (English) - A. and J. Dannholz: Sections from letters and diary entries from the years 1895-1924 (transcript; with copied photos; typewritten; 113 p.) With a foreword by E. Dannholz 1984 - J. Dannholz: Diary entries 1902-1907 (transcript; with copied photos; typewritten; 87 p.)) - A. Dannholz: Diary 1906-1909 (transcript; with copied photos and a copied map of the "Kilimanjaro area and the ways there"; typewritten; 17 p.) - A. Dannholz: 2nd Diary 1917-1918 (transcript; with copied photos and a copied map; typewritten; 30 p.) 2nd ORDNER (Lute-Der Fluch): - Dannholz, J. J.: In the bondage of evil spirit ven: - Dannholz, J. J.: In the bondage of evil spirit ven: - Dannholz, J. J.: In the bondage of evil spirit ven: - Dannholz, J. J.: In the bondage of evil spirit ven: - A. Dannholz: 2nd Diary 1917-1918 (transcript; with copied photos and a copied map; typewritten; 30 p.) Characteristics of animistic heathenism amongst the Vaasu in German East Africa. (German edition: "Im Banne des Geisterglaubens" Leipzig 1916) Translation into English: Fliess 1983. (Maschinegeschrieben, 81 p.) - Dannholz, E.: Erika Dannholz`s Lebenslauf. A story of helping, healing hands. Memories from my life. (typewritten, 5 p.) - Bischofswiesen 1982. Dannholz an Jaeschke (concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Bischofswiesen 1985. Dannholz an Jaeschke (concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Bischofswiesen 1989. Dannholz an Jaeschke (2 letters; concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Bischofswiesen 1982. "Lute-The Curse") - Erlangen 1982. Jaeschke an Dannholz (concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Bad Honnef 1989. Jaeschke an Dannholz (concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Bad Honnef o.J. Jaeschke an Verlag der Ev.-Erlangen 1989. Jaeschke. Corrected draft of the "Preface" for "Lute-The Curse" - Dar es Salaam 1989. University of Dar es Salaam (Omari; Department of Sociology) an Dannholz (English; concerning "Lute-The Curse") - Dannholz, J. J.: L U T E - The Curse. (manuscript) With a foreword by E. Jaeschke. (Maschinegeschrieben, 234 p.) Short summary and notes compiled by E. Dannholz (Maschinegeschrieben, 16 p.)
Jäschke, ErnstHistory of Tradition Preliminary Remark By the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss of 25. February 1803 came the imperial city Biberach and the area of the hospital Biberach with the places Ahlen, Attenweiler, Bergerhausen, Birkendorf, Höfen, Ingerkingen, Laupertshausen, Muttensweiler, Volkersheim then partly Röhrwangen, Warthausen, Winterreute, Ummendorf, Baltringen, 1/3 of Baustetten, Burgrieden and Oberholzheim an Baden, which built out of it a Biberach upper bailiwick assigned to the "upper principality", which divided into the Ratsvogtei (town bailiwick) and the Vogteiamt (official bailiwick). The immediate imperial counties of Metternich-Ochsenhausen, Törring-Gutenzell, Waldbott-Bassenheim-Heggbach and partly Wartemberg-Rot and Sternberg-Schussenried were formed from the area of the Köster, as far as they belonged to the district, and the possessions of the Salem monastery were assigned to the Prince of Thurn und Taxis. The Rhenish Federal Act of 12 July 1806 brought the city of Biberach and the area of the hospital to Württemberg and the immediate imperial counties under Württemberg sovereignty, but the dominions of Erolzheim and Kellmünz on the Iller under Bavarian sovereignty. Through the state treaty with Bavaria, the left bank of the Iller became Württemberg again. According to the State Manual of 1807 and 1808, the following villages and hamlets belonged to the Oberamt Biberach: Biberach, Ahlen, Attenweiler, Aufhofen, Baltringen, Baustetten, Bühl, Bihlafingen, Bergerhausen, Birkendorf, Bronnen, Burgrieden, Donaustetten, Dorndorf, Hagenbuch, Häusern, Höfen, Holzheim, Hüttisheim, Ingerkingen, Laupertshausen, Muttensweiler, Obersulmetingen, Rißegg, Röhrwangen, Steinberg, Stetten a. d. Rottum, Unterweiler, Volkersheim, Westerflach, Wiblingen, Winterreute. In addition, the following were subordinate to the Oberamt: the patrimonial offices Achstetten, Bußmannshausen, Ellmannshausen, Hürbel, Groß- und Kleinlaupheim and Mittelbiberach and the patrimonial superior servant offices Heggbach, Schemmerberg, Sulmingen and Mistingen and Warthausen. After the abolition of the patrimonial offices (1809) the upper office Ochsenhausen was formed with the places Ochsenhausen, Bellamont, Berkheim, Erlenmoos, Gutenzell, Haslach, Horn-Fischbach, Hummertsried, Hürbel, Kirchberg, Kirchdorf, Maselheim, Edenbachen, Reinstetten, Ringschnait, Rot, Schönebürg, Spindelwag, Steinbach, Tannheim and Ummendorf. The newly created lower office Wiblingen with the villages Wiblingen, Aufhofen, Bihlafingen, Bronnen, Bühl, Donaustetten, Dorndorf, Hüttisheim, Steinberg, Stetten an der Rottum, Unterweiler and the Burgvogtei Illerrieden was subordinated to the upper office Biberach. Already after one year the upper office Ochsenhausen was abolished by the organization manifesto of 27 October 1810 again and subordinated as lower office to the upper office Biberach. At the same time the lower office Wiblingen was raised to a higher office. After these extensive changes, which placed the upper office administratively under the control of the 11th Landvogtei, the "an der Donau", with seat in Ulm, the following municipalities belonged to the upper office Biberach: Biberach, Äpfingen, Ahlen, Altheim, Aßmannshardt, Attenweiler, Aufhofen, Bellament, Bergerhausen, Birkendorf, Birkenhard, Erlenmoos, Erolzheim, Füramoos, Gutenzell, Grodt, Höfen, Hürbel, Ingerkingen, Kirchberg an der Iller, Langenschemmern, Laupertshausen, Maselheim, Mettenberg, Mittelbiberach, Mittelbuch, Muttensweiler, Obersulmetingen, Ochsenhausen, Reinstetten, Reute, Ringschnait, Rißegg, Rottum, Schemmerberg, Steinhausen an der Rottum, Ummendorf, Unterdettingen, Untersulmetingen, Volkersheim, Warthausen, as well as the Thurn und Taxissche Amtsgericht and Amt Obersulmetingen. The Unteramt Ochsenhausen was abolished, like all Unterämter in Württemberg, by the II. organization edict over the Oberamtsverfassung of 31 December 1818. By the law about the change of the upper office districts from 6 July 1842 Alberweiler came from the upper office Ehingen and Stafflangen from the upper office Waldsee to the upper office Biberach. The following reunions were carried out: 1836 a clean-up in the area of the communities Dietmanns and Unterschwarzach, 1844 Winterreute from Ummendorf to Ringschnait, 1846 conversion from Hauerz to Ellwangen, 1854 the Glaserhof from Gutenzell to Oberbalzheim, 1861 the wood mill from Burgrieden to Oberholzheim, 1864 Westerflach from Ingerkingen to Untersulmetingen, 1933 the Halbertshof from Wain to Unterbalzheim, 1933 Ziegolz from Dietmanns to Unterschwarzach, 1933 the book from Steinach (today Kr. Ravensburg) to Mühlhausen, 1951 Rindenmoos from Reute to Rißegg. The following incorporation took place: 1864 Birkendorf into the town of Biberach 1934 Bergerhausen into the town of Biberach 1934 Gemeinde Oberdorf into Mittelbiberach, which had replaced it in 1899, 1935 Gemeinde Hummertsried into Mühlhausen. Steinhausen was connected to Schussenried until 1892. Laupheim became a town in 1869, Schussenried in 1947 and Ochsenhausen in 1950. According to the law of 25 April on the division of the territory, the district of Biberach comprises all the municipalities of the former Oberamtsbezirk with the exception of Volkersheim, which was transferred to the Ehingen district administration; it received the municipalities from the Laupheim district: Achstetten, Altheim, Baltringen, Baustetten, Bihlafingen, Bronnen, Bühl, Burgrieden, Bußmannshausen, Großschafhausen, Laupheim, Mietingen, Oberbalzheim, Oberholzheim, Orsenhausen, Rot v. Laupheim, Schönenbürg, Schwendi, Sießen, Sinningen, Stetten, Sulmingen, Unterbalzheim, Wain and Walpertshofen; from the district of Leutkirch the municipalities: Berkheim, Ellwangen, Haslach, Kirchdorf, Rot an der Rot, Spindelwag and Tannheim; from the district Waldsee the municipalities: Dietmanns, Eberhardzell, Oberessendorf, Otterswang, Schussenried, Schweinhausen, Steinhausen, Unteressendorf, Unterschwarzach, Winterstettendorf and Winterstettenstadt. The files listed below were handed over to the Sigmaringen State Archives by the Biberach/Riß District Office on 9 November 1948, 4 February 1949, 3 October 1958 and 24 August 1959. The 1948 and 1949 deliveries were already set up in May 1949 in the State Archives according to the principle of provenance. The 1959 Accession was exclusively for steam boiler files, which were further expanded by a delivery from the Sigmaringen Trade Supervisory Office in 1960 (Acc. 24/1960). The present collection comprises 847 numbers in 23, 85 linear metres and the period from 1806-1950. Files of the same provenance from earlier deliveries for the period from 1806 to about 1925 are kept in the Ludwigsburg State Archives in fonds F 155. The order and indexing was carried out by government inspector Kungl, Reinschrift und Register, who was responsible for the order and indexing. Sigmaringen, January 1966 Kungl Government Inspector Supplement to the Foreword The official assembly records with the earlier signatures Wü 65/5 T 3 No. 54-64 and the building records with the earlier signatures Wü 65/5 T 3 No. 387-477 were handed over to the Kreisarchiv Biberach. In the years 2009/2010, the typewritten finding aid was digitized as part of the German Research Foundation (DFG) funded project for the retroconversion of archived finding aids. In cooperation with the Retroconversion Coordination Office at the Marburg School of Archives and the Baden-Württemberg State Archives, the finding aid book was prepared for publication on the Internet. Corinna Knobloch and Silke Schöttle carried out the necessary reworking. The development data has been available on the Internet since June 2010. The citation of the inventory is: Wü 65/5 T 3 Nr. [Order number] Contents and rating Contains: German Reich: elections, referendums; König-Karl-Jubiläumsstiftung; statistics; Oberamt und Amtskörperschaft: personnel and remuneration, accommodation, diaries, Oberamtspflege, Pensionskasse für Körperschaftsbeamte, Oberamtssparkasse; municipality: Local heads, community officials, community colleges, community property, citizen benefits and burdens, community visitation, expenditure and income management, budget plans, debt level; nobility; citizenship and emigration; awards and honors; Germans abroad; surveyors and marker border adjustments; trade tax; military affairs: Recording, military monitoring, neighbourhood services, damage to land, medical care, care of war-affected and surviving dependants, war graves, consequences of war, requisitions; churches: Diaconate, divine service, church and parsonage construction, furnishings, church assets, pastor, sacristan, church and state, congregations, church care, foundations, levies; free religious community; elementary school: Teachers and salaries, school building construction; work schools; secondary schools; welfare for the poor, youth and migrants; welfare for refugees and displaced persons; support, foundations, hospitals; charities; unemployment and voluntary work; civil servants in construction; fire brigade; agriculture and forestry: Field cleaning, irrigation and drainage, field paths, crossing and stairway rights, irrigation, fruit growing, agricultural associations, local livestock insurance associations, goods traders and debt relief, forest management plans, agricultural workers; river and water police: rivers, ditches, bridges, wells, jackdaws; roads: Construction and maintenance, personnel, forced expropriations, snowmobiles; municipal and security police, police hour; political parties; confiscation of printed matter; gypsies; health police: doctors, mentally ill persons, gravediggers, morgue, ambulance crews; veterinarians; commercial, trade and traffic police: Concessions, mill supplies, steam boilers; old-age and disability insurance; health insurance; accident insurance; executions; Jews; provenance royal taxissches Gemeinschaftsliches Amt Obersulmetingen betr. Schemmerberg.
Inventory historyThe 2668 units of description recorded in this repertory are only a fragment of the original records of the Konsistorium - albeit a quite respectable one - as they were before the authority moved to Düsseldorf in 1934. With the help of the received handwritten or typewritten file directories, the losses or inventory shifts that have occurred can be reconstructed exactly. The chronology spans over forty years:I) As early as 1931, extensive files were collected within the Consistory. The basis for this decision, which was made in the Koblenz office building due to acute lack of space, was a list drawn up in 1929 by Konsistorialoberinspektor Mähler ("sale of files for stamping"). Summary information on the groups of files concerned can be found in Faszikel A II 1 a 9 (serial no. 28):- Travel expenses (A II 1 b 2 and 5) up to 1920- Office requirements (A II 1 b 3) up to 1920- Forms (A II 2 31) up to 1920- Publication of the Official Gazette (A II 2 35) up to 1920- Accounting of the Official Gazette (A II 2 37) up to 1915- Invoices incl. Documents about the church sub-funds up to 1910- Collections up to 1910- Collections yield records up to 1920- Collections concerning the church sub-funds up to 1910- Collections up to 1910- Collections up to 1920- Collections concerning the church sub-funds up to 1910- Collections up to 1910- Collections up to 1920- Collections concerning the church sub-funds up to 1910- Collections up to 1910- Collections up to 1920- Collections up to 1920- Collections up to 1920 Applications for pastors up to 1925- Business diaries up to 1900- Budget files up to 1905- Property files up to 1905- Beiakte up to 1905- Order awards for clergy (B V a 14) up to 1910- Support for clergy and parish widows (B V b 29 u. 86) until 1910- Leave granted to clergy (B V b 64) until 1910- Contributions to the parish widows' and pension fund (B V b 89f.) until 1910- Pension fund accounts (B V b 93f.) until 1910- Remarks on pensions and widows' and orphans' pensions for clergy (B V b 91 u.) 95) until 1910- Aid from the Grant Fund (B V b 104) until 1910- Instructions of the Age Allowances for Ministers (B V b 105) until 1910- Insurance Contributions to the Age Allowance Fund (B V b 106) until 1910- Employment of Vicars from the Vicarage Fund (B VII b 19) until 1905- The teaching vicariate of the candidates (B VII b 17) to 1910 - cash affairs of the vicariate fund (B VII b 20) to 1910II) In September 1934 -directly before the move to Düsseldorf- the following files were destroyed for reasons of space after a note by Mähler:- old diaries until 1914- old budget files until 1915- old files on pensions, widows' pensions etc. until 1920- old files about support for clergy and parish widows- old files about lending of marriage memorial coins- old files about the house collection delivery fund until 1910- old files about "miscellaneous"- old files about the publication of the church official gazette until 1920- old files about instruction of the teaching vicars until 1925- old collections on collection yields up to 1920- old files on church taxes up to 1905- old annual reports of the Superintendents up to 1932The files of the Konsistorium Köln, dissolved in 1825, were also handed over to the Staatsarchiv Düsseldorf in 1934 and survived the war. In today's Main State Archives, this collection with a total of 512 volumes (running time 1786-1838, predominantly 1815-1826) is assigned to Department 2 (Rheinisches Behördenarchiv). (4) A parallel transfer of 525 files of the period 1816-1827 took place to the State Archives Koblenz, where they formed the collection 551. Unfortunately it was completely burned during the air raids on Koblenz in 1944. The same fate suffered stock 443 (princely Wiedische government in Neuwied), in which some Konsistorialakte under the Nr. 143-161 were integrated. Only the finding aids of these two holdings are still available in the Landeshauptarchiv Koblenz. Further consistorial acts were assigned to the following holdings:Best. 309, 1 (French Consistorium General Mainz) No. 1-17Best. 381 (Landeskommission St. Wendel) No. 17-33Best. 382 (Government St. Wendel) No. 420-502Best. 387 (Landgräflich Hessische Regierung Homburg) No. 187-295The holdings 309, 1 and 387 are still in the LHA Koblenz, the remaining two are today on permanent loan in the Landesarchiv Saarbrücken.III) 1936-1937, after lengthy negotiations with the Staatsarchiv Koblenz, the consistorial files in the narrower sense that began in 1826ff. were returned to the Provinzialkirchenarchiv (Provincial Church Archive). It had been in Bonn since 1928, and since 1936 it had its own premises in Hofgarten 13. A 46-page compilation of these extensive holdings by Lic. Rodewald from 1938 is available. (5) These are predominantly the older files of the 19th century, but also, for example, the documents from the war period 1914-1918; in any case, these were files which were "only" of purely historical value and which were considered dispensable for the business.IV) On 14 November 1939, the Konsistorium issued a circular letter to the Superintendents on the possibility of handing over the examination papers of deceased priests to family members. The background was a request by the now Provincial Church archivist Lic. Rosenkranz, who thus sought to alleviate the acute lack of space in the Hofgarten. Initially, 31 pastors whose documents had already been selected by Rosenkranz are listed here. (6) The unsolicited examination papers were then to be destroyed in February 1940. The campaign was continued eight more times until February 1943, when it fell victim to the wartime restrictions on the Consistory's operations. (7) The only condition for the file request was the submission of 50 Pfennig return postage. A total of 908 pastors were listed. It is not possible to determine which documents were actually still requested back by the families and thus saved from later destruction.V) On 12.11.1943, the director of the Koblenz State Archives, Dr. Hirschfeld, in his capacity as air-raid commissary, called on the Konsistorium to outsource the files kept in Düsseldorf (8). This was rejected on the grounds that the (current) personnel files were already in an air-raid shelter recognised as bomb-proof; for the remaining files, structural security measures would now be taken immediately. These can be found documented in a cost estimate of 10.12.1943 by architect Otto Schönhagen, the head of the provincial church building authority: The registry office facing Freiligrathstraße is to be provided with protective walls for -some modest- 720 Reichsmark. It can be assumed that these conversions were carried out at the beginning of 1944. In any case, the files remaining at the Konsistorium itself came through the war without any noticeable losses.VI) On the other hand, the Hofgarten 13 building was completely destroyed during the air raid on Bonn on 18 October 1944. The fire had reached the cellar so quickly that both the older personnel files of the pastors and the Konsistorial inventory returned from Koblenz in 1937 were totally lost. In contrast to the old pertinence holdings, these holdings were not outsourced to the Provinzialkirchenarchiv and the Kirchenbücher. This is by far the greatest loss suffered by the original Consistorial tradition, especially in the 19th century. It is to be quantified on approx. 400-600 volumes of fact files (Generalia and Spezialia) as well as on an even higher number of personnel files. In this repertory, the burnt predecessor volumes are listed under the heading "Remarks"; the frequently occurring spring numbers in the holdings signatures indicate the complete loss of a file. For a very detailed reconstruction of the holdings destroyed in Bonn, which would be possible, the Rodewald List would have to be compared with the existing handwritten file directories. Fortunately, to a certain extent there exists a replacement tradition in the form of files of the Upper Presidium of the Rhine Province in the LHA Koblenz. (9) Important material that has not otherwise been handed down in Düsseldorf is also contained in the Rhine Province Department of the holdings 7 (Evangelical High Council of Churches) in EZA Berlin. (10)VI) On 24 February 1972, the Regional Church Office decided to hand over the long overdue files of the former Consistory to the Regional Church Archive. (11) Previously, despite their duration, some of which dates back to 1826, they were considered to be registry properties and were also administered by the registry. Since also in 1971 in connection with the move into the new office building of the LKA in the Hans-Böckler-Straße a general registration cut took place, the specialties of the church districts and the church communities were pulled out of the Konsistorialakten and summarized to separate stocks (31 church districts as well as 41 local records). Unfortunately, the separation was not complete, so that still considerable file parts remained in the Konsistorial inventory. In the present repertory, it is always noted if the following volumes are in stocks 31 or 41. Conversely, in the typewritten finding aids for these two holdings, it is noted which pre-volumes can be found in the Konsistorial files. note on useThe following file plan of the Konsistorialkanzlei dates from the 19th century and was updated into the 1940s. The term "n.a." (no files available) for individual subgroups can indicate complete loss due to the effects of war. As a rule, however, the relevant files have been removed as outlined above and added to newly created series of holdings. This also applies to all personnel files. The 90 business diaries preserved for the period 1928-1948 are added to the list of units of description listed here. There have been no archival indexing aids for the stock so far. A typewritten alphabetical index of the existing files, created in 1931 by the registry of the time, was available, though without any information on the running time. Two further large-volume handwritten file indexes were first written in one hand around 1850 and then updated over a period of almost 100 years. (12) Many of the files listed there have now been lost. Nevertheless, the two files still retain an important significance, since they indicate the file transfers and re-signings within the Konsistorial registry and the reconstruction of the lost holdings is at all only possible with them.The first partial file recording by auxiliary staff began around 1990. The undersigned has compared the contents of these photographs. It was not possible to completely standardize their extremely different distortion intensities. The present repertory is therefore not "of one mould". The index in this printed version covers only the names of places and persons as well as a few selected terms. A complete keyword search is possible via the database of the Archive of the EKiR. The files of the Konsistorium cover almost all facets of church life in the Rhine Province. The tradition for the time of the Weimar Republic and the Nazi regime up to 1945 is almost completely preserved. On the other hand, the files from the First World War are largely lost, not to mention the often only rudimentary tradition for the 19th century. With the previous scientific use one cannot avoid the impression that the latent mistrust of wide church circles in the Rhineland towards this authority has been reflected since its foundation up to the research. In addition, there may be an understandable aversion towards individual members of the Consistory who are burdened in the church struggle. It is to be hoped that a relaxed - of course never uncritical - way of dealing with this so expressive material will enrich our knowledge of the Protestant church history of the Rhineland.Düsseldorf, 31 October 2001(Dr. Stefan Flesch)1. Cf. the following Max Bär: Die Behördenverfassung der Rheinprovinz seit 1815 (Publikationen der Gesellschaft für Rheinische Geschichtskunde 35), Bonn 1919 (ND Meisenheim 1965), S. 153-164; Werner Heun: Art. Konsistorium, in: TRE Vol. XIX, S. 483-488; on the general embedding of church law and church politics see Die Geschichte der Evangelischen Kirche der Union, edited by J.F.Gerhard Goeters and Joachim Rogge, Leipzig 1992-1999, passim2. For this bear, a.a.O., p. 162: "The governments were left only with the supervision of the church books, the care for the establishment and maintenance of the church courts, the ordering and execution of the police regulations necessary for the maintenance of the external ecclesiastical order, the supervision of the administration of property and the appointment or confirmation of the secular church servants to be appointed for the ecclesiastical administration of property and the supervision of them and, together with the consistory, the alteration of existing and the introduction of new succession fees and the alteration of existing and the formation of new parish districts."3. today's address: Konrad-Adenauer-Ufer 12. cf. History of the City of Koblenz vol. 2, Stuttgart 1993, p. 426f.4The holdings of the North Rhine-Westphalian State Archives. Brief overview, Düsseldorf 1994, p. 98. A 30-page compilation of the files submitted can be found in A II 1 a 9 Bd. I.5. B I a 29 Bd. IV6. Circular No. 11073 in B I a 29 Bd. IV, in alphabetical order: Heinrich Wilhelm Achelis; Hugo Achenbach ( 1908); Julius Achenbach ( 1893); August Bergfried ( 1922); Friedrich Wilhelm Rudolf Böhm ( 1867); Emil Döring ( 1925); Georg Doermer ( 1888); Heinrich Doermer ( 1839); August Ludwig Euler ( 1911); Karl Furck ( 1911); Gustav Adolf Haasen ( 1841); Julius Haastert; Philipp Jakob Heep ( 1899); Gustav Höfer; Paul Kind; Karl Margraf ( 1919); Daniel Gottlieb Müller ( 1892); Andreas Natrop ( 1923); Christian Friedrich Nelson ( 1891); August Penserot ( 1866); Reinhard Potz ( 1920); Eduard Schneegans (born 1810); Philipp Jakob Stierle ( 1887); Eduard Vieten ( 1869); Josef August Voigt ( 1869); Johann Gustav Volkmann ( 1842); Reinhard Vowinkel ( 1898); Friedrich Weinmann ( 1860); Friedrich Wenzel ( 1909); Gustav Wienands ( 1929)7th ibid.March 1940 (48 names), November 1940 (33 names), September 1941 (47 names), February 1942 (123 names), July 1942 (118 names), October 1942 (128 names), November 1942 (176 names), February 1943 (204 names)8. A II 1 a 9 Vol. I (current No. 28). Cf. Petra Weiß's contribution to the overall problem: Die Bergung von Kulturgütern auf der Festung Ehrenbreitstein, in: Jahrbuch für Westdeutsche Landesgeschichte 26 (2000), pp. 421-4529. Cf. Inventory of the Upper Presidium of the Rhine Province, Part 1 (Publications of the Rhineland-Palatinate State Archives Administration, vol. 71), Koblenz 1996, pp. 42-45 and 396-40910. Christa Stache: Das Evangelische Zentralarchiv in Berlin und seine Bestände, Berlin 1992, pp. 61-64 as well as handwritten repertory especially of the department Rheinland (copy available in the AEKR Düsseldorf). The inventory comprises approx. 25 linear metres.11. LKA files 23-2-3 vol. 3 (resolution); cf. also the letter of Archivrat Schmidt of 9.9.1971 in 22-28 vol. 212. All mentioned finding aids are kept in the repertory collection of the Landeskirchlichen Archivs.
Catechist and colonist, 1834-1848 in the Cape, 1848-1852 in Ebenezer, Bethanien, Berseba, 1852-1875 in Germany, then back to Africa, see also RMG 2.372; Letters and diaries by Samuel Johann Hahn and Mrs. Helene Hahn, née Langenbeck, 1831-1855; C. Böhm to Mrs. Helene Hahn, 1870; Fr. Heinrich Hahn, Dautzschen to Deputation, 1884;
Rhenish Missionary SocietyContains: Text connection in the current sentence to issues 5 and 7, which, like all other issues of the diary, were no longer found
Pallottines1863-1905 in Salem, Ameib, Walvis Bay, diaries see RMG 1.598; letters (also by Katharine Böhm, née Hahl), travel reports, station reports, cash reports, contributions to "Kleinen Missionsfreund" 1863-1907, 1915; financial correspondence with managing director Friedrich Schindelin, 1888-1890; letters and reports by Ludwig Koch, Landing
Rhenish Missionary Society